Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Romantic Fragments

Elena Firsova wrote her latest chamber work "Romantic Fragments" (After Reading E.T.A. Hoffmann) for solo violin, flute, clarinet, violoncello, piano and percussion to a commission from the Kissingen Summer Festival, which is especially concerned with Russian music this year. The work received its world premiere during the course of the so-called "Concerts for Curious Listeners" at the Villa Hailmann in Bad Kissingen on 6 July 2003 (11 o'clock). The work was performed by the ensemble TrioLog, founded in 1996. Besides allocating commissions to well-known and less well-known composers, the ensemble devotes itself to performing classical programmes in which the central idea is the encounter between the old and the new. Moreover, the ensemble members work on programmes based upon specific themes.

Besides the world premiere of Firsova's "Romantic Fragments," the following works were performed at the concert in Bad Kissingen: "Echoes of the Passing Day" for clarinet, violoncello and piano by Vladimir Tarnopolsky, Two Pieces for flute, viola, piano and percussion by Alexander Knaifel and "Three Shepherds" for flute, oboe and clarinet by Rodion Shchedrin.