New Music From The Former Soviet Union

The Centre for Russian Music in London (268, New Cross Rd, opposite rail/tube New Cross Gate station) is giving a concert with “New Music From The Former Soviet Union” on 4 Mai 2004 at which the resident Russian composer Dmitri Smirnow will speak some introductory words.

The following programme is planned:

6 p.m.

Discussion with Elizabeth Wilson, author of “Shostakovich Life Remembered”, and Aserbaidjan composer Frangis Ali-Sade

7:30 p.m.


Jelena Firssowa: “Misterioso”

Frangis Ali-Sade: “Ask havasi” for violincello solo and “Oasis” for string quartet and tape

Xenia Ensemble (italy):

Eilis Cranitch and Cynthia Treggor (violin), Michele Minne (viola) and Elizabeth Wilson (violoncello)