Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Shostakovich's “Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District” at Covent Garden

Shostakovich’s opera “Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District” is being produced at the Royal Opera House Covent Garden in London. Opening night will be 1 April 2004 (additional performances are planned for 5.4., 8.4., 14.4., 17.4., and 20.4. 2004) Antonio Pappano, chief conductor of the Opera House, will conduct, Richard Jones is the director. The leads: John Tomlinson (Boris), Katarina Dalayman (Katerina) and Christopher Ventris (Sergej). The opera will be performed in Russian (with English surtitles). The original version of the opera will be shown in Covent Garden for the first time. Only the revised version with the title ‘Katerina Ismailova’ was performed there before in 1963 in the presence of the composer. ‘Lady Macbeth’ was performed at the English National Opera in London in 2001.