Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Jan Müller-Wieland Is Writing for the Beaux Arts Trio

Jan Müller-Wieland has dedicated a chamber work to the world famous Beaux Arts Trio on the occasion of the eightieth birthday of the pianist Menahem Pressler and the fiftieth anniversary of this extraordinary ensemble. Menahem Pressler founded the world renowned piano trio a half century ago and is still its spiritus rector and active pianist. The ensemble's personnel has meanwhile changed several times. Today, besides Menahem Pressler, the Beaux Arts Trio comprises Antonio Meneses (cello) and the young Daniel Hope (violin). "Writing for these three 'top musicians' was associated with much conscious admiration as well as the certainty that a large, broad breath would blow round and protect my new piece," says the composer.

The world premiere of his new work "Schlaflied" for Violin, Violoncello and Piano will take place on 25 January 2005 at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam. The Beaux Arts Trio will then go on a tour through the USA with "Schlaflied."