Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Dmitri Shostakovich: Suite from “The Hornets” arranged for Piano Quintet or Sextet, or for Piano and Strings

Dmitri Shostakovich composed a romantic score full of dramatic power, lyric tenderness and vivid orchestral colours for the film “The Hornets.” He succeeded in capturing a southern atmosphere with a spirit and urgency unique in his production. Many parts of this film score have become frequently performed hits in the orchestral literature, being performed in a variety of contexts.

Hans J. Rogoll has now produced a chamber version which can be realised in different ensemble combinations. The famous Romance and Gallop, the best-known pieces from Shostakovich’s film music, are of course also included.