Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Mieczylaw Weinberg Society Founded in Moscow

A Mieczylaw Weinberg Society has been founded in Moscow thanks to the efforts of the musicologist Manashir Yakubov, editor of the new Shostakovich Complete Edition and close friend of the Weinberg family.

Weinberg was born in Warsaw. He initially studied piano with Józef Turczynski there before moving to the Soviet Union in 1939. He continued his studies at the Minsk Conservatory with Vassily Solotaryov until 1941, arrived in Moscow in 1943 where he graduated from the composition class of Dmitri Shostakovich.

Comparable to that of Shostakovich, with whom the composer enjoyed a close lifelong friendship, Weinberg’s catalogue of works comprises numerous orchestral compositions, including 22 symphonies, chamber music and especially ballets and operas. Thus his works include a ballet on the Tolstoy subject of “The Golden Bowl,” the comic opera “The Love of d’Artagnan” after the popular novel “The Three Musketeers” of Alexandre Dumas as well as the operas “The Portrait” based on Gogol and “The Idiot” based on Dostoyevsky. Concerning the selection of these subjects, which at times refer back to nineteenth-century Russian literature, Weinberg corresponded very frequently with Dmitri Shostakovich (“The Nose” based on Gogol, “Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District” based on Leskov as well as a ballet based on “The Idiot” of Dostoyevsky) and with Rodion Shchedrin (“Dead Souls” based on Gogol, “Anna Karenina” based on Tolstoy and “The Seagull” based on Chekov).

Weinberg contributed 60 compositions to the genre of film music alone. Possibly with a glance towards Stravinsky, he turned to an expressively neoclassic style, developing an individual personality before this background.