Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Giya Kancheli’s “Broken Chant” Receives World Premiere in London

Giya Kancheli’s “Broken Chant” for violin, oboe and orchestra will receive its world premiere at the Barbican Centre in London on 15 February 2008. The BBC Symphony Orchestra will be conducted by the 21-year-old Lionel Bringuier with soloists Lisa Batiashvili (violin) and François Leleux (oboe), to whom the work is dedicated.

“Each time a work of mine is premiered,” Kancheli comments, “I sense a certain discomfort towards the interpreters. My music is completely free of technical and rhythmical difficulties, virtuoso passages and passages with brilliant effects. And the more masterly the interpreters are, the more uncomfortable I feel. In “Broken Chant” the “victims” of my musical style are two brilliant, world-famous soloists.

At the same time, it is also important to me that completely different kinds of challenges, often overlooked at first glance, do not remain unconsidered by interpreters of such format. By this I mean maintaining an exaggeratedly slow tempo from beginning to end and the precise differentiation between piano and four-fold pianissimo. In the end result, the simplicity characteristic of my music becomes a complex simplicity.”

The next performance is planned for 3 April 2008 in Copenhagen with the Danish National Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Yuri Temirkanov. Here, too, Lisa Batiashvili and François Leleux will perform the solo parts.

15 February 2008

London, Barbican Centre

World premiere: Giya Kancheli “Broken Chant” for violin, oboe and orchestra

BBC Symphony Orchestra (dir. Lionel Bringuier)

Lisa Batiashvili (violin), François Leleux (oboe)

Commissioned by the BBC Symphony Orchestra, the Danish National Symphony Orchestra and the Göteborg Symphony Orchestra