Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Siemens Music prize for Anne-Sophie Mutter

The violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter will receive the 2008 Siemens Music Prize, endowed with 200,000 Euros. The jury especially acknowledged her unusual commitment to contemporary music.

In the summer of 2007, the violinist performed the world premiere of Sofia Gubaidulinas In tempus praesens at the Lucerne Festival. On 16 February she will perform the French premiere, introducing the work in Paris, accompanied by the Orchestra de Radio France under the direction of Kurt Masur. The concert will be recorded by Radio France.

The Ernst von Siemens Music Prize has been awarded since 1973. Former winners have included Benjamin Britten, Herbert von Karajan, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Peter Schreier, Nikolaus Harnoncourt and, last year, the British composer Brian Ferneyhough.