Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Lera Auerbach: Three World Premieres in Cologne

The Cologne Philharmonie and the Artemis Quartet, founded in Lbeck in 1989 and now resident in Berlin, are organising a Saison russe during these months. For this series consisting of four concerts (24 and 27 January, 27 and 29 March 2008), the Quartet has added other artists to strengthen and enrich the programme, including Ulrich Matthes and Elisabeth Leonskaya. Each concert will thus have its own individual character. Altogether 18 small and large chamber works (by Shostakovich, Prokofiev and Auerbach) from the Sikorski catalogue are represented.

The concert on 29 March 2008 will have a special flavour because of the participation of Lera Auerbach, with ten preludes from the cycles of Preludes, Op. 41, 46 and 47 being presented as well as three world premieres (Choral, Fugue and Postlude for Piano / Postscript for Piano Trio / Piano Trio based on the C- Major Preludes from Op. 46 and 47).

29 March 2008

Cologne, Philharmonie

Lera Auerbach world premieres

Choral, Fugue and Postlude for Piano / Postscript for Piano Trio / Piano Trio based on the C-Major Preludes from Op. 46 and 47

Performers: Lera Auerbach (piano), Gregor Sigl (violin), Eckart Runge (violoncello)

The Spanish premiere of Lera Auerbachs Russian Requiem for boy soprano, mezzo soprano, bass, boys choir, mixed choir and large orchestra recently took place in Cuenca on 19 March 2008 under the direction of Markus Poschner. The performers were Elzbieta Ardam (mezzo soprano), Nikita Storoyev (bass), the Estonian Boys Choir, the Latvian State Choir and the Bremen Philharmonic.