Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

“Lonesome George” ballet with Shostakovich’s 8th string quartet

In 2015, the ballet “Lonesome George” by choreographer Marco Goecke premiered at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf. The piece remained in the programme for many years and can now also be seen at the Stadttheater Bern on 5 February 2022. Goecke chose one of the most impressive chamber music works of the 20th century. Dmitri Shostakovich once dedicated his String Quartet No. 8 in C minor to the victims of fascism. In the ballet we hear the piece in the arrangement as a chamber symphony for string orchestra by Rudolf Barschai.

The ballet’s story in brief: A girl distances herself from her parents, a woman leaves her lover and another woman alienates herself from the group through her individualism. All three choose their own path to loneliness.

The Bern Dance Evening presents three choreographic signatures that have had a decisive influence on the contemporary dance scene. Marco Goecke’s masterpiece “Lonesome George” is touching for its delicate and refined language of movement and is part of this trilogy. The other ballets are by Andonis Foniadakis and Sharon Eyals.

Ballet “Lonesome George”
Chamber Symphony op. 110a
Berner Symphonieorchester
Choreography: Marco Goecke
Stadttheater Bern 
The work was created in 2015 for the Ballett am Rhein

» Show all news