Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Canadian premiere of Giya Kancheli’s “Nu.Mu.Zu” at the Winnipeg New Music Festival 2022

Premiered in 2015 by the Belgian National Orchestra, Giya Kancheli's work bearing the special title “Nu.Mu.Zu” is to receive its Canadian premiere on 22 January 2022 in the opening concert of the Winnipeg New Music Festival 2022 in Winnipeg. It will be performed by the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Daniel Raiskin. The composer, who died in 2019, once said the following about the title and background of this work:

“In the Sumerian language, which no longer exists, ‘Nu.Mu.Zu’ means ‘I don't know’. The illusions that I knew something gradually disappeared and it turned out that by the time I had reached almost 80 years of age and was living a life full of contradictions, I was completely confused. What happens in the world gradually destroys the last hope in my consciousness, without which life loses its meaning for all of us.
“I don't know” what will happen in the future. However, having lost hope, I continue to dream of a world where fanaticism, sectarian strife and violence are no longer the dominant features of the world order.”

22.01.2022   
Winnipeg   
Canada premiere   
Giya Kancheli
“Nu.Mu.Zu” for orchestra   
Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Daniel Raiskin   
In the opening concert of the Winnipeg New Music Festival 2022

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Kanadische Erstaufführung von Gija Kantschelis „Nu.Mu.Zu“ beim Winnipeg New Music Festival 2022

Hochgeladene Datei

Das im Jahr 2015 vom Belgischen Nationalorchester uraufgeführte Werk mit dem besonderen Titel „Nu.Mu.Zu“ von Gija Kantscheli erlebt am 22. Januar 2022 im Eröffnungskonzert des Winnipeg New Music Festival 2022 in Winnipeg seine kanadische Erstaufführung. Es spielt das Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, die Leitung hat Daniel Raiskin. Zum Titel und zu den Hintergründen dieses Werkes hat der 2019 verstorbene Komponist einmal geäußert:

„In der sumerischen Sprache, die nicht mehr existiert, bedeutet ‚Nu.Mu.Zu‘ ‚Ich weiß es nicht‘. Die Illusionen, dass ich etwas wüsste, verschwanden allmählich und es stellte sich heraus, dass ich, als ich fast 80 Jahre alt geworden war und ein Leben voller Widersprüche führte, völlig verwirrt war. Was in der Welt geschieht, zerstört nach und nach die letzte Hoffnung in meinem Bewusstsein, ohne die das Leben für uns alle seinen Sinn verliert.
Ich weiß nicht, was in Zukunft passieren wird. Da ich jedoch die Hoffnung verloren habe, träume ich weiter von einer Welt, in der Fanatismus, sektiererische Auseinandersetzungen und Gewalt nicht mehr die dominierenden Merkmale der Weltordnung sind.“

22.01.2022   
Winnipeg   
Kan. EA   
Gija Kantscheli
“Nu.Mu.Zu” für Orchester   
Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra
Ltg.: Daniel Raiskin   
Im Eröffnungskonzert des Winnipeg New Music Festival 2022