Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Edison Denisov - 25th anniversary of death 24 November 2021

Among Russian composers of the post-Shostakovich era such as Sofia Gubaidulina, Galina Ustvolskaya and Alfred Schnittke, Edison Denisov is considered the great poet of sound, a master of differentiated colouring and the finest contours. On 24 November, we commemorate the 25th anniversary of Edison Denisov’s death.

Born on 6 April 1929, he is one of the most important composers of Russian modernism. He first began studying mathematics before studying composition at the conservatory in Tomsk with Vissarion Shebalin and Nikolai Pejko. From 1968 to 1970, Denisov worked at the Experimental Studio for Electronic Music in Moscow. He gave private lessons in composition (his most important students were Yelena Firsova and Dmitri Smirnov) and taught instrumentation and score-playing at the Moscow Conservatoire, as the authorities did not want to entrust him with a composition class due to his avant-garde tendencies. Following the collapse of the Soviet Union, Denisov was secretary of the Russian Composers’ Union for a time and co-founder of the Moscow Ensemble for New Music. Denisov was initially promoted by Dmitri Shostakovich, but his own work later increasingly distanced itself from his influence, as he increasingly turned to Western models of contemporary music (primarily from the French region). Denisov’s extensive oeuvre is characterised by free dodecaphony and microstructural procedures, with which he achieves a great richness of atmospheric timbres. Denisov is the creator of numerous chamber music, vocal, stage and orchestral works such as “Requiem”, “La vie en rouge” or the opera “L’écume des jours” after Boris Vian. In “La vie en rouge” for voice and chamber ensemble based on political texts by Boris Vian, Denisov succeeds uniquely in translating the musicality of Vian’s language within the framework of a song cycle.

“L’écume des jours” / “Froth on the Daydream”

The opera “L’écume des jours” / “The Froth on the Daydream” of 1981 is a central work in Edison Denisov’s oeuvre. The lyrical drama in 3 acts and 14 pictures based on a novel by Boris Vian, available in a German translation by Jürgen Köchel, was premiered in Paris on 15 March 1986. The plot takes place in a surrealistically designed future world that is at once exhilarating and horrific. Colin and Chloé, two true “children of happiness”, meet and fall in love in a circle of young fantasists. They marry and live carefree into the day. But this happiness does not last long. When Chloé is stricken by a mysterious illness, the medical treatment claims the last financial reserves. The disintegration of the ideal world is just as unstoppable as Chloé’s infirmity. She dies, leaving Colin in the bitter realisation that happiness, love and life run through one’s hands like sand. 

Catalogue raisonné of Edison Denisov’s works at Sikorski

The catalogue raisonné of Edison Denisov’s works, published in 2016, is still complete and up-to-date. In the foreword to this catalogue, Ekaterina Kouprovskaia writes: “Denisov's stylistic development shows great steadiness, without interruptions or detours, but always evolutionary.”

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Edison Denissow - 25. Todestag am 24. November 2021

Hochgeladene Datei

Der Komponist Edison Denissow gilt unter den russischen Komponisten der Nach-Schostakowitsch-Ära wie Sofia Gubaidulina, Galina Ustwolskaja und Alfred Schnittke als der große Klangpoet, als Meister des differenzierten Kolorits und der feinsten Konturen. Am 24. November gedenken wir des 25. Todestags von Edison Denissow.

Der am 6. April 1929 geborene Komponist zählt zu den bedeutendsten Komponisten der russischen Moderne. Zunächst begann er ein Mathematikstudium, bevor er am Konservatorium in Tomsk bei Wissarion Schebalin und Nikolai Pejko Komposition studierte. Von 1968 bis 1970 arbeitete Denissow im Experimentalstudio für elektronische Musik in Moskau. Er gab private Unterrichtsstunden in Komposition (seine bedeutendsten Schüler waren Jelena Firssowa und DmitriSmirnow) und lehrte am Moskauer Konservatorium Instrumentation und Partiturspiel, da man ihm aufgrund seiner avantgardistischen Tendenzen keine Kompositionsklasse anvertrauen wollte. Nach dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion war Denissow eine Zeitlang Sekretär des russischen Komponistenverbandes und Mitbegründer des Moskauer Ensembles für Neue Musik. Denissow wurde anfangs von Dmitri Schostakowitsch gefördert, sein eigenes Schaffen grenzte sich aber später immer mehr von dessen Einfluss ab, während er sich zunehmend westlichen Vorbildern der Gegenwartsmusik (vornehmlich aus dem französischen Raum) zuwandte. Denissows umfangreiches Werk ist geprägt von freier Dodekaphonie und mikrostrukturellen Verfahren, womit er einen großen Reichtum an atmosphärischen Klangfarben erzielt. Denissow ist der Schöpfer zahlreicher Kammermusik-, Vokal-, Bühnen- und Orchesterwerke wie etwa „Requiem“, „La vie en rouge“ oder der Oper „L’écume des jours“ nach Boris Vian. In „La vie en rouge“ für Singstimme und Kammerensemble nach politischen Texten von Boris Vian gelingt es Denissow einzigartig, die Musikalität der Sprache Vians im Rahmen eines Liedzyklus umzusetzen.

„L’écume des jours“ / „Der Schaum der Tage“

Die Oper „L’écume des jours“ / „Der Schaum der Tage“ aus dem Jahr 1981 ist ein zentrales Werk in Edison Denissows Schaffen. Das lyrische Drama in 3 Akten und 14 Bildern nach einem Sujet von Boris Vian, das auch in einer deutschen Übersetzung von Jürgen Köchel vorliegt, wurde am 15. März 1986 in Paris uraufgeführt. Die Handlung spielt in einer surrealistisch gestalteten, gleichzeitig beglückenden und grauenhaften Zukunftswelt. Colin und Chloé, zwei wahre „Kinder des Glücks“, lernen sich in einem Kreis junger Phantasten kennen und lieben. Sie heiraten und leben unbeschwert in den Tag. Doch dieses Glück währt nicht lange. Als Chloé von einer rätselhaften Krankheit befallen wird, beansprucht die ärztliche Behandlung die letzten finanziellen Reserven. Der Zerfall der heilen Welt ist ebenso unaufhaltsam wie Chloés Siechtum. Sie stirbt und lässt Colin in der bitteren Erkenntnis zurück, daß Glück, Liebe und Leben den Händen wie Sand entrinnen. 

Werkverzeichnis Edison Denissows bei Sikorski

Das im Jahr 2016 erschienene Werkverzeichnis Edison Denissows ist bis heute vollständig und aktuell. Im Vorwort zu diesem Verzeichnis schreibt Ekaterina Kouprovskaia: „Denissows stilistische Entwicklung weist eine große Stetigkeit auf, ohne Unterbrechungen oder Umwege, immer jedoch evolutionär.“

» Zeige alle News