Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

100th Birthday of Stanisław Lem and Krzysztof Meyer’s Lem-Opera “Kyberiade”

On 12 September 2021, we will commemorate the 100th birthday of Stanisław Lem. Lem was probably the most important philosopher, essayist, writer and specialist in profound science fiction literature in Poland. His works, which have been translated into 57 languages alone, have inspired generations.  Yet Lem’s books are anything but easy to translate, for his language is immensely complex and inventive. 

Like Jules Verne, who anticipated many technical achievements long before they were realised and incorporated them into his novels, Stanisław Lem was already dealing with scientific topics such as nanotechnology and the interconnectedness of the world in the 1960s. Contacting extra-terrestrials was one of the author’s favourite subjects.  His best-known novel is perhaps “Solaris”.   

Lem, was born into a Polish-Jewish family, studied medicine during the German occupation in Poland and managed to survive the Holocaust by means of forged papers. His international fame took off with the publication of his first novel, The Planet of Death, in 1951. Many of his novels were made into films. 

Stanisław Lem’s compatriot, the Polish composer Krzysztof Meyer, chose various passages from his stories for an opera subject. Meyer’s opera in three acts based on stories by Stanisław Lem, entitled “Kyberiade”, had its world premiere in Wuppertal on 11 May 1986. 

Here lies the tale: In a cybernetic age animated by androids, the constructor Trull invents three storytelling machines for the melancholy Queen Genia, the stories generated are intended to distract her and cheer her up.  The first is how Trull builds a perfect supercomputer for the King of the Many, but through its machinations he himself is to be eliminated. However, Trull manages to foil the king’s plan through a clever trick. In the second story, King Voluptatus has engineer Listig construct three huge erotic dream cabinets, which he tests with enthusiasm. Completely addicted to dreams, he loses the ability to return to reality. In the story of the third machine, a shipwrecked man,  Automatthias finds himself in extreme mortal danger, from which even his tiny computer “In the Ear” knows no way out. After his unexpected rescue, he becomes a bitter enemy of technology for the rest of his life. The ironic-utopian reflection on earthly existence ends with the insight that it is not money, progress and perfection, but wisdom and truth alone that can save the world.

12.09.2021
100th Birthday
Stanisław Lem 
(12.09.1921 – 27.03.2006)
-  Text for the opera “Kyberiade” by Krzysztof Meyer

Photo Stanilsaw Lem © Wikipedia

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

100. Geburtstag von Stanisław Lem und Krzysztof Meyers Lem-Oper „Kyberiade“

Hochgeladene Datei

Am 12. September 2021 gedenken wir des 100. Geburtstages von Stanisław Lem. Lem war der wohl bedeutendste Philosoph, Essayist, Schriftsteller und Spezialist für hintergründige Science-fiction-Literatur in Polen. Seine Werke, die allein in 57 Sprachen übersetzt  wurden,  haben  Generationen  begeistert.  Dabei  sind  Lems  Bücher  alles  andere  als  leicht  zu  übersetzen,  denn  seine  Sprache  ist  ungemein komplex und erfindungsreich. 

Vergleichbar Jules Verne, der so manche technischen Errungenschaften bereits vor ihrer Realisierung vorausdachte  und  in  seinen  Romanen  verarbeitete, beschäftigte sich auch Stanisław Lem bereits in den  sechziger  Jahren  mit  naturwissenschaftlichen  Themen  wie  Nanotechnologie  und  der  Vernetzung  der Welt. Auch das Thema der Kontaktaufnahme mit Außerirdischen  war  ein  Lieblingssujet  des  Autors.  Einer  seiner  bekanntesten  Romane  war  „Solaris“.   

Lem, der aus einer polnisch-jüdischen Familie stammte, studierte während der  deutschen Besatzung in Polen Medizin und konnte den Holocaust mit gefälschten Papieren überleben. Sein internationaler  Ruhm  nahm  mit  der  Veröffentlichung  seines  ersten Romans „Der Planet des Todes“ im Jahr 1951 seinen  Ausgang. Viele  seiner  Sujets  wurden  auch  verfilmt. 

Stanisław Lems Landsmann, der polnische Komponist Krzysztof Meyer, wählte verschiedene Passagen seiner Erzählungen für ein Opernsujet  aus. Meyers Oper in drei Akten nach Erzählungen von Stanisław Lem mit  dem  Titel „Kyberiade“  erlebte  am  11.  Mai 1986 in Wuppertal ihre Uraufführung. 

Hier der Inhalt: In einem von Androiden belebten kybernetischen  Zeitalter  erfindet  der  Konstrukteur  Trull  für  die  schwermütige  Königin  Genia  drei  geschichtenerzählende Maschinen, deren Märchen sie  zerstreuen  und  erheitern  sollen.  Die  erste handelt  davon, wie  Trull  dem  König  der  Vielzuvielen  einen  perfekten  Supercomputer  baut,  mit  dessen  Hilfe  er  jedoch  selbst  ausgeschaltet  werden  soll. Durch einen raffinierten Trick gelingt es Trull jedoch, den Plan des Königs zu vereiteln. In der zweiten Geschichte lässt sich König Voluptatus von Ingenieur Listig drei riesige erotische Traumschränke konstruieren, die er begeistert erprobt. Völlig traumsüchtig verliert  er  die  Fähigkeit,  in  die  Wirklichkeit  zurückzufinden.  In der Geschichte  der  dritten  Maschine  gerät  Automatthias  als  Schiffbrüchiger  in  höchste Lebensgefahr, aus der selbst sein winziger Computer „Im Ohr“  keinen  Ausweg  weiß.  Nach seiner  unerwarteten  Rettung  wird  er  für  den  Rest  seines   Daseins zum erbitterten Technikfeind. Am Ende der ironisch-utopistischen  Reflexion  über  das  irdische  Dasein  steht  die  Einsicht,  dass  nicht  Geld,  Fortschritt  und  Perfektion,  sondern  allein  Weisheit  und Wahrheit die Welt retten können.

12.09.2021
100. Geburtstag
Stanisław Lem 
(12.09.1921 – 27.03.2006)
-  Textvorlage zur Oper „Kyberiade“ von Krzysztof Meyer

Photo Stanisław Lem  © Wikipedia

» Zeige alle News