Prokofiev’s opera “War and Peace” in Geneva

Prokoviev wanted his opera War and Peace, based on Leo Tolstoy’s novel, neither to focus on war scenes nor mass scenes. When, in the middle of the Second World War in 1941, he began work on it, he was planning a quite intimate drama, indeed ‘lyrical scenes’ in the spirit of Tchaikovsky. But what emerged was an opulent work that - unabridged - fills two evenings of performances and demands a large cast. 

On September 13, 2021, a new production of “War and Peace” by Catalan director Calixto Bieito premiered at the Grand Théâtre de Genève. The work will be sung in Russian with Aleja Perez as its musical director. 

Prokofiev always claimed Leo Tolstoy’s epic novel “War and Peace” to be one of his favourite books. The novel is set in tsarist Russia at the beginning of the 19th century during the Napoleonic Wars.

Despite the unusual scale involved in a work of music theatre by Prokofiev, the stylistic conception of the opera was consistent in its continuation of his operatic successes, following on from “The Love for Three Oranges”, “The Fiery Angel” and “Betrothal in the Monastery.” He uses leitmotifs and commemorative motifs, predominantly dispenses with traditional aria or duet parts, and strings together many short sections of action like film scenes.

On the spectacular new production the Grand Théâtre de Genève writes:

“According to some Prokofiev’s posthumous opera ‘War and Peace’ should be called ‘Peace and War’. Inspired in part by the invasion of the USSR by Nazi Germany, Sergei Prokofiev tackled Leo Tolstoy’s colossus to create this work of monumental mismatch. It was not until 1959, six years after the composer died one day before Stalin, that the opera was premiered in its entirety. Prokofiev did his best to compose the intimate scenes of peace and had no choice but to do the same while flattering Stalin’s ego in his glorification of Russian generals at war. Nevertheless, in this fragmented fresco of individuals lost in the masses, Prokofiev combines individual adventure with popular struggle and tells a grand story of love and death, perhaps even with true nationalist feeling. Star director Calixto Bieito, expert at crowd scenes, comes to the Geneva opera stage for the first time, his emotional intensity perfectly reciprocated by the passionate young Argentine conductor Alejo Pérez.”

13.09.2021
Geneva
Premiere 
Sergej Prokofiev, opera “War and Peace” (Russian)
Opéra de Genève 
Director: Calixto Bieito          
Conductor.: Alejo Pérez
- a co-production with the Hungarian State Opera Budapest -

» Show all news

Prokofjews Oper „Krieg und Frieden“ in Genf

Hochgeladene Datei

Prokofjew wollte in seiner Oper „Krieg und Frieden“ nach Leo Tolstois Roman weder Kriegsschauplätze noch Massenszenen im Mittelpunkt sehen. Er plante, als er mitten im Zweiten Weltkrieg 1941 mit der Arbeit daran begann, vielmehr ein sehr intimes Drama, ja ‚lyrische Szenen’ im Geiste Tschaikowskys. Herausgekommen ist ein opulentes Werk, das – ungekürzt – zwei Aufführungsabende füllt und eine große Besetzung erfordert. 

Am 13. September 2021 hatte eine Neuinszenierung von „Krieg und Frieden“ des katalanischen Regisseurs Calixto Bieito Premiere am Grand Théâtre de Genève. Das Werk wird in russischer Sprache gesungen. Die musikalische Leitung hat Aleja Perez. 

Das Roman-Epos „Krieg und Frieden“ von Leo Tolstoi hatte Prokofjew stets als eines seiner Lieblingsbücher bezeichnet. Der Roman spielt in der Zeit der napoleonischen Kriege im zaristischen Russland zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts.

Abgesehen von dem für Prokofjews Musiktheaterwerke ungewöhnlichen Umfang ist die stilistische Konzeption der Oper eine konsequente Fortsetzung seiner Opernerfolge „Die Liebe zu den drei Orangen“, „Der feurige Engel“ und „Die Verlobung im Kloster“. Er verwendet Leit- und Erinnerungsmotive, verzichtet überwiegend auf traditionelle Arien- oder Duett-Partien und reiht viele kurze Handlungsabschnitte wie Filmszenen aneinander.

Das Grand Théâtre de Genève schreibt zu der spektakulären Neuinszenierung:

„Prokofjews posthume Oper ‚Krieg und Frieden‘ sollte nach Meinung einiger ‚Frieden und Krieg‘ heißen. Inspiriert unter anderem durch die Invasion der UdSSR durch Nazi-Deutschland, hat Sergei Prokofjew den Koloss von Leo Tolstoi in Angriff genommen, um dieses Werk von monumentalen Missverhältnissen zu schaffen. Erst 1959, sechs Jahre nach dem Tod des einen Tag vor Stalin verstorbenen Komponisten, wurde die Oper in ihrer Gesamtheit uraufgeführt. Prokofjew gab sein Bestes, um die intimen Szenen des Friedens zu komponieren, und hatte keine andere Wahl, als dasselbe zu tun und gleichzeitig Stalins Ego zu schmeicheln in seiner Verherrlichung der russischen Generäle im Krieg. Dennoch verbindet Prokofjew in diesem fragmentierten Fresko von in der Masse verlorenen Individuen individuelle Abenteuer mit Volkskampf und erzählt eine große Geschichte von Liebe und Tod, vielleicht sogar mit wahrhaft nationalistischem Gefühl. Starregisseur Calixto Bieito, Experte für Massenszenen, kommt zum ersten Mal auf die Genfer Opernbühne, seine emotionale Intensität wird vom leidenschaftlichen jungen argentinischen Dirigenten Alejo Pérez perfekt erwidert.“

13.09.2021
Genf
Premiere 
Sergej Prokofjew, Oper „Krieg und Frieden“ (russ.)
Opéra de Genève 
Regie: Calixto Bieito          
Ltg.: Alejo Pérez
- Koproduktion mit der Ungarischen Staatsoper Budapest -

» Zeige alle News