Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Gerald Resch’s “Hanni”. Monologue with music after Franzobel in Linz

In his monologue with music “Hanni”, Gerald Resch turns to material by the Austrian writer Franzobel. The author's texts, which range between experimentation and Dadaism, humour, contemporary but also historical allusions, have already inspired many contemporary composers, including the German composer Moritz Eggert. In “Hanni” Franzobel tells a real story. And the surprise is that the almost 100-year-old main character Hanni will actually be present in person at the premiere of the piece by Gerald Resch on 25 June 2021 at the Brucknerhaus Linz.

Gerald Resch describes Franzobel’s “Hanni” and its musical adaptation in the following words:

“Her father, Rossknecht, had to sleep in the pigs’ trough, and she was kept like a serf by the peasants. Hanni’s story is full of bitter hardship, poverty and deprivation, a modern Cinderella, except that her prince, ‘a picture of a man’, had to go off to war soon after their wedding. Hanni and her father were forced to help build the barracks for the Gusen concentration camp. Later she saw what went on inside, as well as the victims of the Mühlviertel hare hunt. Her life-threatening attempts to help the prisoners had been of little avail. But when, after the war, the locals started to exploit the barracks for their own benefit and built a housing estate there, she wanted nothing to do with it. 

Her husband, who had been awarded the ‘G’frierfleischorden’ (Frozen Meat Medal or Order of the Frozen Flesh - awarded to those who had served on the Eastern Front for Germany during W.W.2.), only returned from captivity after two years later and had completely changed. Betrayed by life, he sought consolation in alcohol and salacious stories about women. As he drank and gambled away everything, Hanni had to struggle to support her six children. A history of constant evictions, confiscations.

Despite her terrible fate, Hanni never lost faith in life. Should you ask the soon to be centenarian how old she wants to be, she’ll tell you - one hundred thousand. The play, a tribute to a centenarian, shows the big story from the perspective of those so-called small people whose unwavering strength and courage to face life is exemplary.

It is a story that is as simple as it is gripping, which forms the basis for the new monologue with music. In ‘Hanni’, the writer Franzobel has traced the life of one of these many so-called simple women of the countryside, whose biography, however, stands out from the crowd in that it began almost 100 years ago and the person of the plot can be expected to attend the premiere as a guest on her 99th birthday: celebrated with a work that is to be understood as a homage to her and highlights her unwavering strength and courage to face life.”

25.06.2021
Linz
World Premiere Gerald Resch
“Hanni” (monologue with music)
Maxi Blaha (acting, singing) 
Wolfgang Kogert (organ)
Ensemble Phace
Brucknerhaus Linz

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Gerald Reschs „Hanni“. Monolog mit Musik nach Franzobel in Linz

Hochgeladene Datei

Gerald Resch wendet sich in seinem Monolog mit Musik „Hanni“ einem Stoff des österreichischen Schriftstellers Franzobel zu. Die Texte dieses Autors, die sich zwischen Experiment und Dadaismus, Humor, zeitgeschichtlichen, aber auch historischen Anspielungen bewegen, haben schon viele Komponisten der Gegenwart, auch den deutschen Komponisten Moritz Eggert, inspiriert. In „Hanni“ erzählt Franzobel eine reale Geschichte. Und die Überraschung ist, dass die fast 100 Jahre alte Hauptperson Hanni bei der Uraufführung des Stücks von Gerald Resch am 25. Juni 2021 im Brucknerhaus Linz auch persönlich anwesend sein wird.

Gerald Resch beschreibt Franzobels „Hanni“ und seine musikalische Adaption mit folgenden Worten:

„Der Vater, Rossknecht, musste im Sautrog schlafen, sie wurde bei den Bauern wie eine Leibeigene gehalten. Die Geschichte der Hanni ist voll bitterer Not, Armut und Entbehrungen, ein modernes Aschenputtel, nur dass ihr Prinz, ‚ein Bild von einem Mann‘, bald nach der Hochzeit in den Krieg einrücken musste. Hanni und ihr Vater wurden gezwungen, beim Bau der Baracken für das Konzentrationslager Gusen mitzuarbeiten. Später hat sie gesehen, was darin vorging, außerdem die Opfer der Mühlviertler Hasenjagd. Ihre lebensgefährlichen Versuche, den Häftlingen zu helfen, waren wenig aussichtsreich. Als aber nach dem Krieg die Bevölkerung daranging, die Baracken zum Eigennutz auszuschlachten und dort eine Siedlung errichteten, wollte sie damit nichts zu tun haben.

Ihr Mann, ausgezeichnet mit dem ‚G´frierfleischorden‘, kehrte erst zwei Jahre später und völlig verändert aus der Kriegsgefangenschaft zurück. Vom Leben betrogen suchte er Trost im Alkohol und in Weibergeschichten. Da er alles versoff und verspielte, musste Hanni kämpfen, die sechs Kinder durchzubringen. Ständig Delogierungen, Pfändungen.

Trotz dieses schweren Schicksals hat Hanni nie den Glauben an das Leben verloren. Wenn man die bald Hundertjährige fragt, wie alt sie werden will, sagt sie Hunderttausend. Das Stück, eine Hommage an eine Hundertjährige, zeigt die große Geschichte aus der Perspektive ganz kleiner Leute, deren unerschütterliche Kraft und Lebensmut vorbildlich ist.

Es ist eine gleichermaßen schlichte wie packende Geschichte, welche die Grundlage für den neuen Monolog mit Musik bildet. Der Schriftsteller Franzobel hat in ‚Hanni‘ das Leben einer dieser vielen sogenannten einfachen Frauen vom Land nachgezeichnet, deren Biografie sich allerdings insofern aus der Masse heraushebt, als sie vor fast 100 Jahren begann und die Person der Handlung an ihrem 99. Geburtstag als Gast zur Premiere erwartet werden darf: gefeiert mit einem Werk, das als Hommage auf sie zu verstehen ist und ihre unerschütterliche Kraft und ihren Lebensmut hervorhebt.“

25.06.2021
Linz
UA Gerald Resch
„Hanni“ (Monolog mit Musik)
Maxi Blaha (Schauspiel, Gesang) 
Wolfgang Kogert (Orgel)
Ensemble Phace
Brucknerhaus Linz

» Zeige alle News