Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Ballet “Fairy Tale / Märchen” with music by Khachaturian and Shostakovich in Leipzig

How often are excerpts from Dmitri Shostakovich’s ballet suites and Aram Khachaturyan's incidental music to “Masquerade” by Mikhail Lermontov used as background music in scenic works of other genres. In radio plays, for instance, or in plays and, of course, in ballet.  

Now choreographer Mario Schröder has also drawn on these two works again for his new ballet “Fairy Tale / Märchen” at the Leipzig Opera. The verve and wit, but also the imagery and catchy melodies, fit the fairy tale like few other pieces of music. The world premiere of the Leipzig Ballet’s new production and its deliberately extended title “Fairy Tale / Märchen” will take place on 19 June 2021 at the Leipzig Opera House. Together with cabaret artist Michael Sens, Schröder has created a colourful mix of witty fairy tale adaptations in which the centuries-old Grimms’ fairy tale characters meet the fantasy heroes of today, Batman, Darth Vader or Spiderman. And of course Harry Potter also gets to the bottom of the mysterious magical arts of his legendary ancestors.

Oper Leipzig writes:

“Under the title ‘Fairy Tales / Märchen’, the Leipzig Ballet presents eight of the Grimms’ most popular fairy tales. In the tongue-in-cheek interpretation by Schröder and Sens, the Brave Little Tailor becomes the fashion baron Karl von Scherenberg, Prince Heckenschreck fights his way fearlessly to his Sleeping Beauty at Dornenberg Castle, Cinderella falls in love with Prince Passbert of Zalando, a sweet porridge is prepared under the expert guidance of celebrity chef Francois Gourmet and kitchen assistant Koja Kochlöffel, and a host of other dance-obsessed creepy crawlies populate the stage alongside the Frog King. And of course, as it always is in fairy tales, in the end Snow White gets her Prince Charming: all's well that ends well. Look forward to an evening for the whole family!”

19.06.2021
Leipzig
World Premiere
Aram Khachaturian, Dmitri Shostakovich a.o.
Ballet "Fairy Tale / Märchen
Choreographer: Mario Schröder
Excerpts from "Masquerade" by Khachaturian, 1st ballet suite by Shostakovich, etc.
Oper Leipzig

Photo: © Ida Zenner

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Ballett „Märchen / Märchen“ mit Musik von Chatschaturjan und Schostakowitsch in Leipzig

Hochgeladene Datei

Wie oft werden Ausschnitte aus Dmitri Schostakowitschs Ballettsuiten und Aram Chatschaturjans Bühnenmusik zu „Maskerade“ von Michail Lermontow auch in szenischen Werken anderer Genres zur Untermalung eingesetzt. In Hörspielen beispielsweise oder im Schauspiel und natürlich auch im Ballett.  

Nun hat auch der Choreograph Mario Schröder für sein neues Ballett „Märchen / Märchen“ an der Oper Leipzig diese beiden Werke wieder herangezogen. Der Schwung und der Witz, aber auch die Bildhaftigkeit und einprägsame Melodik passen zum Märchen ja auch wie nur wenig andere Musiken. Die Uraufführung der neuen Produktion mit dem bewusst erweitert zu verstehenden Titel „Märchen / Märchen“ des Leipziger Balletts findet am 19. Juni 2021 an der Oper Leipzig statt. Gemeinsam mit dem Kabarettisten Michael Sens hat Schröder einen kunterbunten Mix aus witzigen Märchenadaptionen erarbeitet, in dem die Jahrhunderte alten Märchenfiguren der Grimms auf die Fantasy-Helden von heute treffen, auf Batman, Darth Vader oder Spiderman. Und natürlich geht auch Harry Potter den geheimnisvollen Zauberkünsten seiner sagenumwobenen Vorfahren auf den Grund.

Die Oper Leipzig schreibt dazu:

„Unter dem Titel ‚Märchen / Märchen‘ zeigt das Leipziger Ballett acht der beliebtesten Märchen der Grimms. In der augenzwinkernden Interpretation von Schröder und Sens wird das Tapfere Schneiderlein zum Modezaren Karl von Scherenberg, kämpft sich Prinz Heckenschreck auf Schloss Dornenberg unerschrocken zu seinem Dornröschen durch, verliebt sich Aschenputtel in Prinz Passbert von Zalando, wird unter der fachkundigen Anleitung von Starkoch Francois Gourmet und Küchengehilfe Koja Kochlöffel ein süßer Brei zubereitet und bevölkern neben dem Froschkönig noch jede Menge anderer tanzbesessener Kriechtiere die Bühne. Und natürlich, wie das im Märchen nun mal so ist, bekommt Schneewittchen zu guter Letzt auch ihren Prinz Charming: Ende gut, alles gut. Freuen Sie sich auf einen Abend für die ganze Familie!“

 

19.06.2021
Leipzig
UA
Aram Chatschaturjan, Dmitri Schostakowitsch u.a.
Ballett „Märchen / Märchen“
Choreograph: Mario Schröder
Ausschnitte aus „Maskerade“ von Chatschaturjan, 1. Ballettsuite von Schostakowitsch u.a.
Oper Leipzig

Foto: © Ida Zenner

» Zeige alle News