Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Phenomenal Stream of Sofia Gubaidulina’s Fantasy on the Theme S-H-E-A at the Hamburg Music Festival

The piano duo Shalamov had already made a video recording of their German premiere performance of Sofia Gubaidulina’s Fantasy on the Theme S-H-E-A in the Small Hall of the Elbphilharmonie on 7 December 2021. However, as the event was to be broadcast for the first time as part of the Musikfest Hamburg, the recording had not yet been made public. This took place on 14 May 2021.

The Russian Alina Shalamova and Bulgarian Nikolay Shalamov succeeded in creating an exciting and well-balanced interpretation of Gubaidulina’s technically highly demanding work, composed in 2009 for the cultural patron and conservatory founder Paloma O'Shea.

On the occasion of this performance, we spoke with the performers, who, aside from their professional partnership, are a married couple. When asked why this approximately twenty-minute work is so technically demanding, they explained as follows:

“The technical difficulty of this piece is to combine the wide range of dynamics with a rhythmically complicated structure. Rapid changes of pitch and tempo also require great attention. 

Not to mention that the instruments are tuned with a difference of 1/4 tone, making it extremely uncomfortable for Alina as she has absolute pitch. Therefore, the ‘wrongly’ tuned instrument was played by Nikolay.”

14.05.2021
DEA Sofia Gubaidulina
Fantasy on the Theme S-H-E-A for two pianos
Piano du9 Shalamov
Stream

-As part of the Hamburg Music Festival –

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Phänomenaler Stream von Sofia Gubaidulinas Fantasie über das Thema S-H-E-A beim Hamburger Musikfest

Hochgeladene Datei

Das Klavierduo Shalamov hatte bereits am 7. Dezember 2021 im Kleinen Saal der Elbphilharmonie eine Videoaufnahme seiner deutschen Erstaufführung von Sofia Gubaidulinas Fantasie über das Thema S-H-E-A drehen lassen. Die Aufnahme war aber bislang noch nicht veröffentlicht worden, weil man das Ereignis im Rahmen des Musikfestes Hamburg zur Erstausstrahlung bringen wollte. Diese erfolgte am 14. Mai 2021.

Der Russin Alina Shalamova und dem Bulgaren Nikolay Shalamov gelang eine aufregend spannende und wohlausgewogene Interpretation von Gubaidulinas technisch hoch anspruchsvollem Werk, das die Komponistin 2009 für die Kultur-Mäzenin und Konservatoriumsgründerin Paloma O‘Shea komponiert hatte.

Wir sprachen anlässlich dieser Aufführung mit den Interpreten, die über ihre berufliche Partnerschaft hinaus zudem ein Ehepaar sind. Auf die Frage, warum dieses circa zwanzig Minuten lange Werk technisch so anspruchsvoll ist, sagten die beiden:

„Die technische Schwierigkeit dieses Stückes besteht darin, die große Bandbreite der Dynamik mit einer rhythmisch komplizierten Struktur zu kombinieren. Schnelle Änderungen der Tonlagen und Tempi erfordern ebenfalls große Aufmerksamkeit. 

Ganz abgesehen davon, dass die Instrumente mit einem Unterschied von 1/4 Ton gestimmt sind, was für Alina äußerst unangenehm war, da sie ein absolutes Gehör hat. Deshalb wurde das ‚falsch‘ gestimmte Instrument von Nikolay gespielt.“

14.05.2021
DEA Sofia Gubaidulina
Fantasie über das Thema S-H-E-A für zwei Klaviere
Klavierduo Shalamov
Stream

-Im Rahmen des Musikfestes Hamburg - 

» Zeige alle News