Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Estonian composer Ester Mägi passes away at the age of 99 on 14 May 2021

On 10 January 2021, the Estonian symphonist and gifted chamber music composer Ester Mägi was celebrated by the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra on the occasion of her 99th birthday. On 14 May 2021, the most important Estonian composer of the 20th and early 21st century passed away. 

In the 1950s, Mägi began her composition studies with Mart Saar at the Tallinn Conservatory (Estonian Academy of Music). At the same time, she was schooled by the Russian composer Vissarion Shebalin in Moscow. Ester Mägi taught music theory at the Tallinn Conservatory for three decades from 1954 to 1984.

In addition to her choral and orchestral music, which has been performed all over the world by such distinguished conductors as Peeter Lilje and Eri Klas, her chamber music works are very popular. For example, Cantus for cello and guitar and Six Estonian Folk Melodies for violin and piano.    

Ester Mägi
(10.01.1922 – 14.05.2021)    
- Cantus for cello and guitar         
- Six Estonian Fold Melodies for violin and piano  

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Die estnische Komponistin Ester Mägi verstarb 99-jährig am 14. Mai 2021

Noch am 10. Januar 2021 wurde die estnische Sinfonikerin und begnadete Kammermusikkomponistin Ester Mägi vom Nationalen Estnischen Sinfonieorchester anlässlich ihres 99. Geburtstags gefeiert. Am 14. Mai 2021 nun verstarb die wohl bedeutendste estnische Komponistin des 20. und beginnenden 21. Jahrhunderts. 

In den 1950er Jahren hatte Mägi am Konservatorium Tallinn (Estnische Musikakademie) bei Mart Saar ihr Kompositionsstudium begonnen. Parallel dazu ließ sie sich auch vom russischen Komponisten Wissarion Schebalin in Moskau ausbilden. Am Konservatorium in Tallinn war Ester Mägi von 1954 bis 1984 drei Jahrzehnte lang als Dozentin für Musiktheorie tätig.

Neben ihrer Chor- und Orchestermusik, die so bedeutende Dirigenten wie Peeter Lilje und Eri Klas in aller Welt aufführten, erfreuen sich ihre Kammermusikwerke großer Beliebtheit. So zum Beispiel der Cantus für Violoncello und Gitarre und die Sechs estnischen Volksmelodien für Violine und Klavier.    

Ester Mägi
(10.01.1922 – 14.05.2021)    
- Cantus für Violoncello und Gitarre         
- Sechs estnische Volksmelodien für Violine und Klavier    

» Zeige alle News