Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Szczecin ballet premiere of Ludwig Minkus’ “Don Quixote”

Making a virtue out of necessity, the Opera in Szczecin Castle is to present its new ballet production of “Don Quixote” to the music of Ludwig Minkus and John Lanchbery, choreographed by Anna Hop, as a paid stream on 24 April 2021. The public premiere is scheduled for 26 June 2021.

In addition to the ballet “La Bayadère” by Ludwig Minkus, John Lanchbery has also adapted and set “Don Quixote”.  The British conductor and composer of Australian origin, who died in 2003, was particularly known for his ballet music works. Lanchbery based his orchestration of “Don Quixote” on the three-act original by Ludwig Minkus with a prelude by Marius Petipa. 

Inspired by his reading of numerous chivalric novels, Don Quixote sets out into the world with his faithful servant Sancho Panza to perform heroic deeds. In Barcelona, he mistakes the innkeeper Lorenzo for a powerful lord of the castle and his daughter Kitri for Dulcinea, the “lady of his heart”.  When Kitri refuses to marry the unloved Gamache and runs away with Basil, Lorenzo, Gamache and Don Quixote follow her.  Don Quixote plunges into a series of adventures and battles to “free” his Dulcinea.  In the process, he is finally defeated by the “unknown knight” Basil, who takes the “lady of his heart” away. 

Ludwig Minkus was a contemporary of Peter Tchaikovsky and wrote works in a genre to which Tchaikovsky also made world-famous contributions. Minkus, who is also found in encyclopaedias under Léon Minkus or Ludwig Alois Minkus, was an Austro-Hungarian ballet composer, conductor and teacher of Czech and Polish origin, who may be known to many today primarily for his two ballet scores, “La Bayadère” and “Don Quixote”.  Comparable to Tchaikovsky, his music is characterised above all by a rousing melodic and rhythmic style accompanying highly romantic subjects. The composer was born in Vienna on 23 March 1826, one year before Beethoven’s death, and died in the same place on 7 December 1917. 

24.04.2021                                          
Szczecin – Opera in the Castle                                           
Premiere 
Ludwig Minkus / John Lanchbery,                                          
Ballet “Don Quixote”
(Choreographer: Anna Hop)                                                 
(The premiere will be streamed for a fee)

 

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Stettiner Premiere von Ludwig Minkus‘ „Don Quichotte“ nun auch auf der Bühne

Hochgeladene Datei

Die Oper im Schloss Stettin hatte aus der Not eine Tugend gemacht und ihre neue Ballettproduktion „Don Quichotte“ nach der Musik von Ludwig Minkus und John Lanchbery in der Choreographie von Anna Hop am 24. April 2021 als kostenpflichtigen Stream gezeigt. Nun folgt am 26. Juni 2021 auch die Bühnenpremiere ...

Neben dem Ballett  „La  Bayadère“ von Ludwig Minkus  hat John Lanchbery  auch  „Don Quichotte“ bearbeitet  und  eingerichtet.  Der britische, 2003 verstorbene  Dirigent und Komponist australischer Herkunft war insbesondere für seine Ballettmusikarbeiten bekannt. Lanchbery stützte sich bei seiner Orchestrierung des „Don Quichotte“ auf  die  dreiaktige  Vorlage  von  Ludwig  Minkus   mit   einem   Vorspiel von Marius  Petipa. 

Angeregt von der Lektüre zahlreicher Ritterromane zieht Don Quichotte mit seinem treuen Diener Sancho Panza  in  die  Welt,  um  Heldentaten  zu vollbringen. In Barcelona hält er den Schankwirt Lorenzo   für   einen   mächtigen   Schlossherrn   und   dessen Tochter Kitri für Dulcinea, die „Dame seines Herzens“.  Als  diese sich weigert, den ungeliebten Gamache zu heiraten und  mit  Basil  davonläuft,  folgen  ihr   Lorenzo,   Gamache   und   Don   Quichotte.  Don  Quichotte  stürzt  sich  in  eine  Reihe  von  Abenteuern  und  Kämpfen,  um  seine  Dulcinea  zu  „befreien“.  Dabei wird er schließlich vom „unbekannten Ritter“ Basil besiegt, der die „Herzensdame“ fortführt. 

Ludwig Minkus war ein Zeitgenosse von Peter Tschaikowsky  und  schrieb  Werke  in  einem  Genre,  zu  dem  auch  Tschaikowsky  weltberühmte  Beiträge  leistete. Minkus, der in den Lexika auch unter Léon Minkus oder Ludwig Alois Minkus zu finden ist, war ein österreich-ungarischer Ballettkomponist, Kapellmeister und Pädagoge   tschechischer   und   polnischer  Herkunft,  der  heute  vor  allem  durch  seine beiden Ballettmusiken „La Bayadère“ und „Don Quichotte“  vielen  bekannt  sein  dürfte.  Vergleichbar Tschaikowsky  ist  seine  Musik  vor  allem  durch  eine  mitreißende Melodik und Rhythmik geprägt, die  hochromantische  Sujets  begleitet. Der Komponist  wurde  am  23. März 1826, ein Jahr vor Beethovens Tod, in Wien geboren und starb am gleichen Ort am 7. Dezember 1917. 

26.06.2021
Oper im Schloss Stettin    
Prem.Minkus/Lanchbery
Ballett „Don Quichotte“    
Choreografin: Anna Hop    
Die eigentliche Premiere am 24.04.2021 wurde kostenpflichtig gestreamt

» Zeige alle News