Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Daniil Trifonov playing Alfred Schnittke’s Concerto for Piano and String Orchestra on Livestream

The Russian pianist Daniil Trifonov, born in 1991 and admired worldwide, is to make his debut with piano concertos by Alfred Schnittke and Sergei Prokofiev with the Elbphilharmonie’s resident orchestra. The livestream will run online on 5 February 2021 at 8pm.

Conducted by Alan Gilbert, the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra and Trifonov will perform Alfred Schnittke’s Concerto for Piano and String Orchestra and Sergei Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 1 in D flat major, op. 10, composed in 1912.

Alfred Schnittke, who died in 1998, used the piano in a special way, but not in the manner of his contemporaries John Cage or Karlheinz Stockhausen, who were not really interested in the sound of the piano, but basically wished to construct other, new instruments from the piano using all kinds of aids. Characteristic of Schnittke’s conception of the piano are percussive approaches, clusters, complicated rhythms, and great dynamic contrasts. He liked to use all the registers of the piano, alternating between dissonant chordal facture and sharply contoured resounding counter-voices.
Russian pianist Daniil Trifonov’s interpretation promises to be quite an experience in all. “I’ve never heard anything like it before,” as the great pianist Martha Argerich once said of Trifonov.

05.02.2021 at 8.00 pm
Daniil Trifonov (piano)
NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra; Conductor: Alan Gilbert
Alfred Schnittke (1934-1998)
Concerto for piano and string orchestra
Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)
Piano Concerto No. 1 in D flat major op. 10 (1912)
Symphony No. 1 in D major op. 25 / "Symphonie Classique”

» Show all news