Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

International Classical Music Award for Alban Gerhardt’s recording of Shostakovich’s cello concerto

The Berlin cello virtuoso Alban Gerhardt had already aroused great enthusiasm in 2007 with his recording of Dmitri Shostakovich’s famous Cello Sonata in D minor op. 40 and the Eight Pieces for Cello and Piano including Schnittke's Madrigal in memoriam Oleg Kagan, the 1st Cello Sonata and “Sounding Letters” on the Hyperion label (Hyperion CDA 675334). Eleonore Brüning reported at the time in the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung that Alban Gerhardt and his piano accompanist Steven Osborne very wisely did not exaggerate with contrasting accents. Their reading remained differentiated, always closer to the sound speech of the musical text than to musical whispers. 

Now Alban Gerhardt, already a recipient of numerous awards for his CD recordings (including three ECHO-Klassik prizes and a Gramophone Award), has followed up with a recording of the two cello concertos op. 107 and op. 126 by Dmitri Shostakovich with the WDR Symphony Orchestra conducted by Jukka-Pekka Saraste, which has just received an award from the jury of the International Classical Music Awards in the category “Concerts”. The International Classical Music Awards are considered the highest accolade in the professional world. The award ceremony is scheduled for June 2021 at a gala in Vaduz (Liechtenstein).

For the announcement of the award, the jury of twenty international jurors wrote: “Even for experienced cellists, Shostakovich’s concertos are among the greatest challenges. Alban Gerhardt’s expressive interpretation combines masterful playing with a tone that can be described as feverish and rough, but also slender and distinguished. Without eccentric gestures, his fluid, colourful playing brings rarely heard intensity to the composer's darkly coloured sound world.”

On the CD:
Dmitri Shostakovich:
Cello Concertos No. 1 op. 106 and No. 2 op. 127
Alban Gerhardt (cello)
WDR Symphony Orchestra; Conductor: Jukka-Pekka Saraste
Hyperion CDA 68340

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

International Classical Music Award für Alban Gerhardts Aufnahme

Cellokonzerte Schostakowitsch

Der Berliner Cello-Virtuose Alban Gerhardt hatte 2007 schon einmal mit seiner Einspielung von Dmitri Schostakowitschs berühmter Cello-Sonate d-Moll op. 40 und den Acht Stücken für Cello und Klavier sowie von Schnittkes Madrigal in memoriam Oleg Kagan, der 1. Violoncellosonate und „Klingende Buchstaben“ beim Label Hyperion große Begeisterung ausgelöst (Hyperion CDA 675334). Eleonore Brüning schrieb damals in der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung, dass Alban Gerhardt und sein Klavierbegleiter Steven Osborne klugerweise mit Kontrastbetonungen nicht übertrieben. Ihre Lesart bleibe differenziert, stets näher an der Klangrede des Notentextes als an musikalischen Einflüsterungen. 

Nun ließ Alban Gerhardt, der für seine CD-Einspielungen bereits zahlreiche Auszeichnungen erhielt (u.a. drei ECHO-Klassik-Preise und einen Gramophone Award), eine Aufnahme der beiden Cellokonzerte op. 107 und op. 126 von Dmitri Schostakowitsch mit dem WDR Sinfonieorchester unter Jukka-Pekka Saraste folgen, die von der Jury der International Classical Music Awards soeben eine Auszeichnung in der Kategorie „Konzerte“ erhalten hat. Die International Classical Music Awards gelten in der Fachwelt als höchste Auszeichnung. Die Preisverleihung ist für Juni 2021 im Rahmen einer Gala in Vaduz (Liechtenstein) vorgesehen.

In der Begründung für die Auszeichnung schreibt die aus zwanzig internationalen Juroren bestehende Jury: „Selbst für erfahrene Cellisten zählen Schostakowitschs Konzerte zu den großen Herausforderungen. Alban Gerhardts ausdrucksstarke Interpretation verbindet meisterhaftes Spiel mit einem Ton, der als fieberhaft und rauh, aber auch als schlank und profiliert zu beschreiben ist. Ohne exzentrische Gesten bringt sein fließendes, farbenfrohes Spiel selten hörbare Intensität in die dunkel gefärbte Klangwelt des Komponisten.“ 

Zur CD:
Dmitri Schostakowitsch:
Cellokonzerte Nr. 1 op. 106 und Nr. 2 op. 127
Alban Gerhardt (Vc)
WDR Sinfonieorchester; Ltg.: Jukka-Pekka Saraste
Hyperion CDA 68340

» Zeige alle News