Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

The death of Estonian composer Jaan Rts on 25 December 2020

Hochgeladene Datei

Estonian composer Jaan Rääts passed away on 25 December 2020 at the age of 88. Born on 15 October 1932 in Tartu, Estonia, the composer studied at the Tallinn Conservatory with Heino Eller and Mart Saar until 1957. He began his career as a sound engineer at Estonian Radio moving from there to become music director at Estonian Television.

After leaving the broadcaster in 1974, he focused his activities not only on composing but also on pedagogy. In 1984, he was appointed professor of composition at the Tallinn Conservatory, where he himself had once been a student. Later, the conservatory was renamed the Estonian Academy of Music. From 1974 to 1993, Rääts headed the Estonian Composers’ Association.

Rääts’ earlier works in particular were characterised by a closeness to neoclassicism. Like his compatriot Arvo Pärt and the Russian Alfred Schnittke, the composer also turned to polystylism. The main focus of Jaan Rääts’ work was instrumental music.  

Jaan Rääts
(15.10.1932 – 25.12.2020)
- Concerto No. 2 for string orchestra op. 78
- Toccata for piano 

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Der estnische Komponist Jaan Rääts starb am 25. Dezember 2020

Der estnische Komponist Jaan Rääts ist am 25. Dezember 2020 im Alter von 88 Jahren verstorben. Der am 15. Oktober 1932 im estnischen Tartu geborene Komponist studierte bis 1957 am Konservatorium Tallinn bei Heino Eller und Mart Saar. Zunächst begann er als Toningenieur beim Estnischen Rundfunk und wechselte dann als Musikdirektor ans Estnische Fernsehen.

Nachdem er 1974 den Sender verlassen hatte, trat neben dem Komponieren auch die Pädagogik ins Zentrum seiner Tätigkeiten. 1984 wurde er als Kompositionsprofessor an das Konservatorium Tallinn berufen, wo er selbst einst studiert hatte. Später wurde dieses Konservatorium in Estnische Musikakademie umbenannt. In den Jahren 1974 bis 1993 leitete Rääts den Estnischen Komponistenverband.

Eine Nähe zum Neoklassizismus prägte vor allem Rääts‘ frühere Werke. Vergleichbar seinem Landsmann Arvo Pärt und dem Russen Alfred Schnittke wandte sich der Komponist auch dem Polystilismus zu. Den Schwerpunkt von Jaan Rääts‘ Schaffen bildet die Instrumentalmusik.  

Jaan Rääts
(15.10.1932 – 25.12.2020)
- Konzert Nr. 2 für Streichorchester op. 78
- Toccata für Klavier

» Zeige alle News