Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Shanna Pranaitis makes world premiere recordings of Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf’s flute works for NEOS

Hochgeladene Datei

Like the oboe, the flute plays a prominent role in Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf's work. Already during his studies Mahnkopf composed the piece “coincidentia oppositorum” for alto flute solo in 1986 and “succolarity” for flute solo in 1989.

While these two works were still of relatively short duration, a much larger flute work, “La terreur d'ange nouveau”, followed at the end of the 1990s as part of the extensive Angelus Novus cycle. “On the flute”, says Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf, “it is not only the sound that appeals to me, but also the special virtuosity, agility, lightness in crossing large sound spaces”.

Indeed, jumps over three octaves in the shortest time are no problem due to overblowing on the flute. Just as distinctive are all possible harmonics on this instrument and the rich palette of non-tonal sounds, for example, through key noises or the toneless flow of air through the instrument.

The US-American flautist Shanna Pranaitis is a specialist for the interpretation of contemporary flute music and has been working with Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf’s flute works for decades. She also became known in Germany through her participation in Karlheinz Stockhausen’s courses and the Darmstadt Summer Courses. She is also co-founder of the e-learning platform and the laboratory for composers and performers “FluteXpansions”.

In recording the Mahnkopf works “coincidentia oppositorum”, “succolarity”, “La terreur d'ange nouveau”, “Kurtág-Cantus IIW, “atsiminimas” and “Finite Jest” Shanna Pranaitis plays a Burkart flute and piccolo as well as a Kingma bass and alto flute. Incidentally, “Finite Jest” is not a work for flute solo like the majority of the works on this album, but a work for flute and soprano, whereby Pranaitis has been wonderfully accompanied by the singer and performance artist Frauke Aulbert with extended vocal techniques.

Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf
Flute Music
“coincidentia oppositorum”, “succolarity”, “La terreur d’ange nouveau”, “Kurtág-Cantus II”, “atsiminimas” und “Finite Jest”
Shanna Pranaitis (flute) / Frauke Aulbert (soprano)
NEOS 12011
World premiere recordings

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Shanna Pranaitis hat Claus-Steffen Mahnkopfs Flötenwerke bei NEOS zu Weltersteinspielungen gebracht

Die Flöte spielt in Claus-Steffen Mahnkopfs Schaffen, ähnlich wie auch die Oboe, eine herausragende Rolle. Schon während seines Studium komponierte Mahnkopf 1986 das Stück „coincidentia oppositorum“ für Altflöte solo und 1989 „succolarity“ für Flöte solo.

Waren diese beiden Werke noch von relativ kurzer Spieldauer, so folgte Ende der 90-er Jahre ein weitaus größeres Flötenwerk, „La terreur d’ange nouveau“, als Teil des umfangreichen Angelus-Novus-Zyklus. „An der Flöte“, sagt Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf, „reizt mich nicht nur der Klang, sondern auch die besondere Virtuosität, Behendigkeit, Leichtigkeit im Durchqueren großer Klangräume.“

In der Tat sind Sprünge über drei Oktaven in kürzester Zeit durch das Überblasen auf der Querflöte kein Problem. Ebenso apart sind alle möglichen Flageolett-Klangfarben auf diesem Instrument und die reiche Palette an nicht tongebundenen Geräuschen etwa durch Klappengeräusche oder tonloses Strömenlassen der Luft durch das Instrument.

Die US-amerikanische Flötistin Shanna Pranaitis ist eine Spezialistin für die Interpretation zeitgenössischer Flötenmusik und beschäftigt sich mit Claus-Steffen Mahnkopfs Flötenwerken bereits seit Jahrzehnten. Bekannt wurde sie in Deutschland auch durch ihre Teilnahme an Kursen Karlheinz Stockhausens und bei den Darmstädter Ferienkursen. Sie ist überdies Mitbegründerin der E-Learning-Plattform und des Labors für Komponisten und Interpreten „FluteXpansions“.

Bei der Aufnahme der Mahnkopf-Werke „coincidentia oppositorum“,  „succolarity“, „La terreur d’ange nouveau“, „Kurtág-Cantus II“, „atsiminas“ und „Finite Jest“ spielt Shanna Pranaitis eine Burkart-Flöte und -Piccoloflöte sowie eine Kingma-Bass und -Altflöte. „Finite Jest“ ist übrigens kein Werk für Flöte solo wie der überwiegende Teil der Werke dieses Albums, sondern ein Werk für Flöte und Sopran, bei dem Pranaitis von der Sängerin und Performance-Künstlerin Frauke Aulbert mit erweiterten Stimmtechniken großartig begleitet wird.

Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf
Flute Music
„coincidentia oppositorum“,  „succolarity“, „La terreur d’ange nouveau“, „Kurtág-Cantus II“, „atsiminas“ und „Finite Jest“
Shanna Pranaitis (Flöte) / Frauke Aulbert (Sopran)
NEOS 12011
Weltersteinspielungen

» Zeige alle News