Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

On the 10th anniversary of the death of Boris Tishchenko

After a long and serious illness, the Petersburg composer Boris Tishchenko died on 9 December 2010 at the age of 71.

Tishchenko had been a pupil of Galina Ustvolskaya and Dmitri Shostakovich and had taught composition at the conservatory of his hometown until his retirement. In addition to a wealth of orchestral works - Tishhenko created a large number of symphonies and instrumental concertos - the composer also left behind a rich legacy of chamber music and piano works.

In 1966 he composed his Requiem for soprano, tenor and orchestra based on texts by Anna Akhmatova. No less a person than his teacher Dmitri Shostakovich made a new orchestration of Tishchenko's original concerto for violoncello, 17 wind instruments, 5 percussion instruments and organ.

At the beginning of his compositional development Tishchenko not only took up western modern stylistic devices such as dodecaphony and serial techniques, but also suggestions from old Russian and Asian musical cultures. Many of his works are monothematic. Tishshenko also appeared as a music writer and published essays on, among others, Schubert, Shostakovich and Ustvolskaya.

Boris Tishchenko
(23.03.1939 – 09.12.2010)
10th anniversary of his death
- Concert for piano and orchestra
- Concert for viola, 17 wind instruments, five percussion instruments and organ
- Violin concertos no. 1 and 2
- Symphonies No. 2 “Marina”, Nos. 3, 5 and 6
- Piano Quintet
- Piano sonatas No. 2, 3, 5 and 7

» Show all news