Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Veit Hertenstein has recorded Shostakovich’s Viola Sonata op. 147 and the Cello Sonata op. 40 in his own arrangement for viola

From the young viola player Veit Hertenstein came the saying, “Violin is good, viola is better!”

Born in Augsburg, he conquered the concert stages of the world with his viola, of which he must surely be aware. Trained as a violinist to the age of 15 but, on the advice of his teacher, switched to the viola, which in his opinion suited him better. “I simply love this dark tone, which can radiate so much warmth and allows you to play so many different timbres,” says Veit Hertenstein, whose preference is for Russian music, particularly Sergei Prokofiev and Dmitri Shostakovich. 

On his new CD featuring exclusively Shostakovich’s chamber music, Hertenstein himself has become an arranger. Without further ado, he turned Shostakovich’s 1934 Sonata for Violoncello and Piano op. 40 into a viola sonata, which in this recording he directly juxtaposes with the Korean pianist Minze Kim and the Russian’s original piece, the legendary late work Sonata for Viola and Piano op. 147. 

Although the early work is still completely fulfilled, especially in the first movement of Russian Melos, the cello sonata reveals the typical characteristics of Shostakovich's “merciless deformation and irreversible de-animation of the main theme”, as musicologist Claus-Christian Schuster once put it.

The cello sonata also shows traces of a lament, as so impressively defined by Shostakovich's work completed just before his death, the Viola sonata op. 147. Shostakovich himself never actually heard the late Viola Sonata op. 147 for on 9 August 1975, a few weeks before the premiere (1975), he passed away.

Dmitri Shostakovich:
Sonata for violoncello and piano in D minor op. 40 in an arrangement for viola and piano (Arrangement of the viola part: Veit Hertenstein)
Sonata for viola and piano op. 147
Veit Hertenstein (viola), Minze Kim (piano)
hänssler Classic CD HC20011

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Veit Hertenstein hat Schostakowitschs Violasonate op. 147 und die Cellosonate op. 40 in eigener Bearbeitung für Viola eingespielt

Hochgeladene Datei

Von dem jungen Bratschisten Veit Hertenstein stammt der Ausspruch „Geige ist gut, Bratsche ist besser!“

Der gebürtige Augsburger, der mit der Bratsche die Konzertbühnen der Welt erobert, muss es schließlich wissen. Bis zu seinem 15. Lebensjahr wurde er als Geiger ausgebildet und wechselte dann auf Anraten seines Lehrers zur Bratsche, die nach dessen Meinung besser zu ihm passe. „Ich liebe einfach diesen dunklen Ton, der so viel Wärme ausstrahlen kann und einem so viele verschiedene Klangfarben erlaubt“, sagt Veit Hertenstein, der eine Vorliebe für russische Musik zum Beispiel von Sergej Prokofjew und Dmitri Schostakowitsch hat. 

Für seine neue CD ausschließlich mit Kammermusik von Schostakowitsch ist Hertenstein selbst als Bearbeiter tätig geworden. Aus Schostakowitschs Sonate für Violoncello und Klavier op. 40 von 1934 machte er kurzerhand eine Bratschensonate, die er bei dieser Aufnahme mit der koreanischen Pianistin Minze Kim dem Originalwerk des Russen, dem legendären Spätwerk Sonate für Viola und Klavier op. 147, unmittelbar gegenüberstellte. 

Obwohl das Frühwerk vor allem im ersten Satz von russischem Melos noch ganz erfüllt ist, zeigen sich auch in der Cellosonate schon die typischen Merkmale von Schostakowitschs „erbarmungsloser Deformation und unumkehrbarer Entseelung des Hauptthemas“, wie es der Musikologe Claus-Christian Schuster einmal formulierte.

Auch Spuren eines Klagegesangs, wie ihn das letzte vor dem Tod vollendete Werk Schostakowitschs Violasonate op. 147 so eindrücklich prägt, zeigen sich in der Cellosonate. Die späte Violasonate op. 147 hatte Schostakowitsch selbst nicht mehr hören können, denn er starb am 9. August 1975 wenige Wochen vor der Uraufführung (1975).

Dmitri Schostakowitsch:
Sonate für Violoncello und Klavier d-Moll op. 40 in einer Bearbeitung für Viola und Klavier (Bearb. des Violaparts: Veit Hertenstein)
Sonate für Viola und Klavier op. 147
Veit Hertenstein (Viola),
Minze Kim (Klavier)
hänssler Klassik CD HC20011

» Zeige alle News