Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Press reaction to the world premiere of Sofia Gubaidulina’s “The Wrath of God” in Vienna

The world premiere of Sofia Gubaidulina's orchestral work “The Wrath of God” on 6 November 2020 at the Vienna Musikverein within the framework of the Vienna Modern Festival with the ORF Radio Symphony Orchestra Vienna under the baton of Oksana Lyniv caused a wave of enthusiastic reviews in the press.  

Here are some excerpts: 

 

“Vienna modern: When new music hits the heart 
Sofia Gubaidulina’s ‘The Wrath of God’ as a ghost concert in the Musikverein - a premiere between tears and goose bumps

Like magma thrusting from the depths: sharp dots twitch in unison with the bass, the heavy brass makes every long tone swell threateningly. The jagged line, which soon builds up to a brazen tutti-like violence, recalls the beginnings of Shostakovich’s Symphonies Nos. 5 and 8; one is reminded of the messianic emphasis of fear and terror in the face of the divine (...)”

(Walter Weidringer in: Die Presse am Sonntag, 08.11.2020)  

 

“Something missed! 

(...) Now it can be stated: All the potential listeners in Düsseldorf, Dresden and Salzburg have missed something. For ‘The Wrath of God’ is mighty, Gubaidulina lets the trumpets of Jericho sound, as it were. Mighty tin salvos are followed by such a deep cantus of rage that only a Beethoven would have made your ears prick up so.” (from: Wiener Zeitung, 06.11.2020) 

 

“Divine virtuoso restlessness 

(...) Not a ghost concert, however, but rather the atmosphere of a CD recording at the Musikverein: the energetic conductor Oksana Lyniv enters the stage and turns her back on the listeners to start with the RSO. It’s about a wild novelty by Sofia Gubaidulina, which should have been premiered at the Salzburg Easter Festival long ago, but was also cancelled ... Gubaidulina’s ‘The Wrath of God’ for orchestra comes over the small congregation like a wave of brass piling up again and again, countered by adagio-like string passages. At times, the action culminates in slowly rising passages which - almost like the tip of a pyramid - form a whimpering sound of pain. Parts of the arsenal of expression are also percussive energetics, dance-like interjections by the woodwinds and moments when horns (and sometimes violin) crave their short solo performances. Also essential is the combination of extremely high and very low instrumental registers until the work (...) ends monumentally-dramatically.” 

(Ljubisa Tosic in: The Standard, 07.11.2020) 

 

“Who will stop the hate? 

After the attack: Sofia Gubaidulina unleashes the ‘Wrath of God’ at Austria’s largest festival for new music 

(...) Low strings and rasping brass, including four Wagner tubas and two bass tubas, introduce the rhythmically very concise, soaring main theme in unison right at the beginning. It is a gestural motif, an elevation, which finally condenses contrapuntally into a multi-layered texture ...”

(Florian Amort in: FAZ, 09.11.2020)

Photo of Oksana Lyniv: © Bayerische Staatsoper

 

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Presse zur Uraufführung von Sofia Gubaidulinas „Der Zorn Gottes“ in Wien

Hochgeladene Datei

Die Uraufführung von Sofia Gubaidulinas Orchesterwerk „Der Zorn Gottes“ am 6. November 2020 im Rahmen des Festivals Wien Modern im Wiener Musikverein mit dem ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien unter der Leitung von Oksana Lyniv hat eine Welle begeisterter Kritiken in der Presse hervorgerufen.  

Hier einige Ausschnitte: 

 

"Wien modern: Wenn neue Musik ins Herz trifft 
Sofia Gubaidulinas ‚Der Zorn Gottes‘ als Geisterkonzert im Musikverein – Eine Uraufführung zwischen Tränen und Gänsehaut 

Als dränge Magma aus der Tiefe: Scharfe Punktierungen zucken im Unisono der Bässe, das schwere Blech lässt jeden langen Ton bedrohlich anschwellen. Die zerklüftete Linie, die sich bald zu eherner Tutti-Gewalt auftürmt, erinnert an die Anfänge von Schostakowitschs Symphonien Nr. 5 und 8; an Messiaen gemahnt die Betonung auch von Furcht und Schrecken im Angesicht des Göttlichen (...)" 

(Walter Weidringer in: Die Presse am Sonntag, 08.11.2020)  

 

„Etwas verpasst! 

(…) Nun lässt sich konstatieren: All die potenziellen Zuhörer in Düsseldorf, Dresden und Salzburg haben etwas verpasst. Denn ‘Der Zorn Gottes’ ist gewaltig, Gubaidulina lässt gleichsam die Posaunen von Jericho erschallen. Auf mächtige Blechsalven folgt ein solch tiefer Cantus der Wut, dass einem Beethoven nur so die Ohren geschlackert hätten.” 

(apa in: Wiener Zeitung, 06.11.2020) 

 

„Gottes virtuose Unruhe 

(…) Kein Geisterkonzert allerdings, im Musikverein herrscht eher die Atmosphäre einer CD-Aufnahme: Die energische Dirigentin Oksana Lyniv betritt die Bühne und kehrt den Lauschenden gleich den Rücken zu, um mit dem RSO loszulegen. Es geht um eine wilde Neuheit von Sofia Gubaidulina, die längst bei den ebenfalls abgesagten Salzburger Osterfestspielen uraufgeführt hätte werden sollen ... Gubaidulinas ‘Der Zorn Gottes’ für Orchester kommt über die kleine Hörgemeinde als immer wieder sich auftürmende Blechbläserwelle, der adagioartige Streicherpassagen entgegentreten. Mitunter kulminiert das Geschehen in langsam aufsteigenden Passagen, die sich - quasi einer Pyramidenspitze gleich - zum wimmernden Schmerzensklang formen. Teile des Ausdrucksarsenals sind auch perkussive Energetik, tänzerisch anmutende Einwürfe der Holzbläser und Momente, in denen Hörner (und einmal auch Geige) ihre kurzen Soloauftritte begehren. Essenziell auch die Kombination extrem hoher und sehr tiefer instrumentaler Register, bis das Werk (…) monumental-dramatisch endet.” 

(Ljubisa Tosic in: Der Standard, 07.11.2020) 

 

„Wer stoppt den Hass? 

Nach dem Anschlag: Bei Österreichs größtem Festival für Neue Musik setzt Sofia Gubaidulina den ‘Zorn Gottes’ frei 

(…) Tiefe Streicher und schnarrende Blechbläser, darunter vier Wagnertuben und zwei Basstuben, stellen gleich zu Beginn unisono das rhythmisch sehr prägnante, in die Höhe strebende Hauptthema vor. Es ist ein gestisches Motiv, ein Sich-Erheben, das sich schließlich kontrapunktisch zu einer vielschichtigen Textur verdichtet …“ 

(Florian Amort in: FAZ, 09.11.2020) 

Foto von Oksana Lyniv: © Bayerische Staatsoper

» Zeige alle News