Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Simon Höfele’s excellent recording of Alexander Arutiunian’s trumpet concerto in A flat major

Yes, a trumpet can sound as delicate as a woodwind instrument in some registers and volumes.

The only 26-year-old German trumpeter loves the art of transformation of his brass instrument and said in a commentary on his new album, his first CD with orchestral accompaniment: “I have also adapted the characteristic woodwind style and tried to play more of the softer tones. This is what I love most.”

For his recording of trumpet concertos by Hummel, Haydn, Copland and above all Alexander Arutiunian with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales of Cardiff under Duncan Ward’s baton, he received an OPUS KLASSIK in the category “concert recording” This makes him one of the youngest winners of this prestigious award in 2020.

He explains how his interpretation of Arutiunian’s extremely popular, frequently recorded trumpet concerto in A flat major sounds rather different than usual: “It didn’t become like this because I wanted to be different, but because I simply feel the music differently.” Simon Höfele is a young trumpeter who loves to experiment and discover. He has also made a name for himself with new music but has found a new approach to genuine classics of the trumpet concerto genre.  

Alexander Arutiunian's trumpet concerto dates from 1950 and was written in Moscow for the virtuoso Timofei Dokschitzer. It was also Dokschitzer who contributed the solo cadenza that is usually played today. At any rate, the structure of this concerto, which lifts with an Andante, is unusual. Only in the following Allegro energico in A flat major does the main theme emerge, followed immediately by a lyrical second theme based entirely on the classical sonata form. In an intermediate section, Arutiunian demonstrates his mastery of polyphonic compositional techniques.

In the “classical” development, soloist and orchestra present themselves in a lively dialogue. Instead of a slow movement, an intermezzo-like meno mosso is heard, followed immediately by a tempo primo that is hardly longer than that of the first movement. The main thematic complex is here once again hymnically exaggerated, until the work concludes with a virtuoso solo cadenza. Trumpeters love the piece, in Münster the young soloist Lukas Speckmann spoke of a phenomenal romping place for every virtuoso colleague and of course, for himself.

On CD “Standards” 
Alexander Arutiunian: 
Trumpet Concerto in A flat major 
Simon Höfele (trumpet)
BBC National Orchestra of Wales of Cardiff, Conductor: Duncan Ward 
Berlin Classics 0301314BC 

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Simon Höfeles ausgezeichnete Einspielung von Alexander Arutjunjans Trompetenkonzert As-Dur

Hochgeladene Datei

Ja, eine Trompete kann in manchen Lagen und Lautstärken durchaus auch mal so zart klingen wie ein Holzblasinstrument.

Der erst 26 Jahre alte deutsche Trompeter liebt die Verwandlungskunst seines Blechblasinstrumentes und sagte in einem Kommentar zu seinem neuen Album, seiner ersten CD mit Orchesterbegleitung: „Ich habe auch den Holzbläserduktus adaptiert und versucht, eher die sanfteren Töne zu spielen. Das ist das, was ich ganz besonders liebe."  

Für seine Einspielung von Trompetenkonzerten Hummels, Haydns, Coplands und vor allem Alexander Arutjunjans mit dem BBC National Orchestra of Wales aus Cardiff unter Duncan Wards Leitung erhielt er in diesem Jahr einen OPUS KLASSIK in der Kategorie „Konzerteinspielung“. Damit gehörte er 2020 zu den jüngsten Gewinnern dieser angesehenen Auszeichnung,  

Dass auch seine Interpretation von Arutjunjans so beliebtem, oft eingespieltem Trompetenkonzert As-Dur so anders klingt als gewohnt, erklärt er mit den Worten: „Sie ist nicht so geworden um des Andersmachens willen, sondern weil ich die Musik einfach anders empfinde.“ Simon Höfele ist ein experimentier- und entdeckungsfreudiger junger Trompeter, der sich auch mit Neuer Musik einen Namen gemacht, hier aber zu echten Klassikern des Trompetenkonzertgenres einen neuen Zugang fand.  

Alexander Arutjunjans Trompetenkonzert stammt aus dem Jahr 1950 und entstand in Moskau für den Virtuosen Timofej Dokschizer. Dokschizer war es auch, der die heute üblicherweise gespielte Solokadenz hierzu beisteuerte. Ungewöhnlich ist in jedem Fall der Aufbau dieses Konzertes, das mit einem Andante anhebt. Erst im darauffolgenden in As-Dur stehenden Allegro energico formt sich das Hauptthema heraus, sogleich gefolgt von einem ganz dem klassischem Sonatenhauptsatz nachempfundenen lyrischen zweiten Thema. In einem Zwischenteil zeigt Arutjunjan seine meisterhafte Beherrschung polyphoner Satztechniken.

In der „klassischen“ Durchführung präsentieren sich Solist und Orchester in einem lebendigen Dialog. Anstelle eines langsamen Satzes erklingt ein zwischenspielartiges Meno mosso, und gleich darauf ein von der Spieldauer her kaum längerer Rückgriff auf das Tempo primo. Der Hauptthemenkomplex wird hier noch einmal hymnisch überhöht, bis das Werk mit der virtuosen Solokadenz schließt. Trompeter lieben das Stück, in Münster sprach der junge Solist Lukas Speckmann von einem phänomenalen Tummelplatz für jeden virtuosen Kollegen und natürlich auch für sich selbst. 

zur CD „Standards“ 
Alexander Arutjunjan: 
Trompetenkonzert As-Dur 
Simon Höfele (Trompete) 
BBC National Orchestra of Wales aus Cardiff, Ltg.: Duncan Ward 
Berlin Classics 0301314BC 

» Zeige alle News