Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Portrait Concert in Honour of Elena Firsova’s 70th Birthday in Duisburg

Hochgeladene Datei

A portrait concert is to be held in the opera foyer of the Duisburg Theatre on 18 October 2020 at 11 a.m. to mark the 70th birthday of Elena Firsova, which the Russian composer celebrated on March 21 this year.

The concert is entitled “Die Schönheit wird die Welt retten” (Beauty will save the world). The performers will be Andreas Oberaigner (clarinet), Tonio Schibel and Martina Sebald (violin), Lolla Süßmilch (viola), Anja Schröder (cello) and Alexandra von der Weth (soprano).

On the programme are Firsova's “Amoroso” for string quartet, “From the Voronezh Notebooks’ after poems by Osip Mandelstam for soprano and string quartet and “FEB” for clarinet and string quartet.

“Composing”, as Elena Firsova once said, “for me means self-deepening, touching beauty, connection to the immaterial world.” Initially, due to their innovative tonal language, the composer’s works were not particularly widespread in the Soviet Union. Furthermore, the increasing popularity her compositions gained in the West, was to become a constant thorn in the side of Soviet cultural bureaucracy. She has lived with her family in England since 1991. Elena Firsova’s poetic and delicately refined music is closely interwoven with the poetry of Osip Mandelstam, who died in a Russian labour camp in 1938.

18.10.2020
Duisburg (opera foyer)
Elena Firsova:
“Amoroso” for string quartet
“From the Voronezh Notebooks” after poems by Osip Mandelstam for soprano and string quartet
“FEB” for clarinet and string quartet
Andreas Oberaigner (clarinet)
Tonio Schibel (violin)
Martina Sebald (violin)
Lolla Süßmilch (viola)
Anja Schröder (cello)
Alexandra von der Weth (Soprano)

Photo: © Marc Zimmermann, Kurt Steinhausen

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Porträtkonzert für Jelena Firssowa zum 70. Geburtstag in Duisburg

Im Opernfoyer des Duisburger Theaters wird am 18. Oktober 2020 um 11 Uhr ein Porträtkonzert anlässlich des 70. Geburtstags von Jelena Firssowa veranstaltet, den die russische Komponistin am 21. März dieses Jahres beging.

Das Konzert trägt den Titel „Die Schönheit wird die Welt retten“. Die Ausführenden sind Andreas Oberaigner (Klarinette), Tonio Schibel und Martina Sebald (Violine), Lolla Süßmilch (Viola), Anja Schröder (Violoncello) und Alexandra von der Weth (Sopran).

Auf dem Programm stehen Firssowas Werke “Amoroso” für Streichquartett, „Aus den Woronescher Heften“ nach Gedichten von Ossip Mandelstam für Sopran und Streichquartett und “FEB” für Klarinette und Streichquartett.

„Komponieren“, so äußerte Jelena Firssowa einmal, „bedeutet für mich Selbstvertiefung, Berührung mit der Schönheit, Verbindung zur immateriellen Welt.“ Die Werke der 1950 geborenen Komponistin fanden aufgrund ihrer innovativen Klangsprache in der Sowjetunion zunächst wenig Verbreitung. Die wachsende Popularität der Komponistin im Westen wiederum war der sowjetischen Kulturbürokratie ein stetiger Dorn im Auge. Seit 1991 lebt sie mit ihrer Familie in England. Elena Firssowas poetische und filigrane Musik ist eng verwoben mit der Lyrik Ossip Mandelstams, der 1938 in einem russischen Arbeitslager starb.

18.10.2020
Duisburg (Opernfoyer)
Jelena Firssowa:
“Amoroso” für Streichquartett
„Aus den Woronescher Heften“ nach Gedichten von Ossip Mandelstam für Sopran und Streichquartett
“FEB” für Streichquartett und Klarinette
Andreas Oberaigner (Klarinette)
Tonio Schibel (Violine)
Martina Sebald (Violine)
Lolla Süßmilch (Viola)
Anja Schröder (Violoncello)
Alexandra von der Weth (Sopran)

Foto der SolistInnen: © Marc Zimmermann, Kurt Steinhausen

» Zeige alle News