Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

The Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne with Sergei Taneyev’s “John of Damascus” op. 1 at Oehms classics

On 19 June 2020 we commemorated the 105th anniversary of the death of Sergei Taneyev. The composer, who was so important for Russian late romanticism, studied at the Moscow Conservatory, where he was trained as a pianist by Nikolai Rubinstein and in composition by Peter Tchaikovsky.

After extensive concert tours, he began a long phase as a composition and piano teacher at the Moscow Conservatory. Due to political turmoil caused by the 1905 revolution, Taneyev left the famous school in protest to teach privately from that time onwards.

Among his students were Scriabin, Rachmaninov and Glière. Glière later became Serge Prokofiev’s teacher.

Aside from his Symphony No. 4 and the Canzone for clarinet and strings, Sergei Taneyev’s most famous work is the cantata “John of Damascus” for mixed choir and orchestra op. 1.

The cantata composed between 1883 and 1884, which has been impressively recorded on the label Oehms classics featuring the Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne and the Czech Philharmonic Choir Brno under Dmitrij Kitajenko’s baton, refers to a long poem by Aleksey K. Tolstoy (1817-1875). It is about the flight from the world of John of Damascus (circa 650 - 754), who spent half of his life as a monk in the Mar Saba monastery near Jerusalem. Taneyev’s cantata contains only sixteen lines of the long text. These passages concentrate on man’s liberation from a world steeped in darkness and fear and the salvation of the Last Judgement.

Sergei Taneyev: John of Damascus. Cantata for mixed choir and orchestra op.1
Czech Philharmonic Choir Brno
Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne
Managing Director: Dmitri Kitayenko
Oehms classics OC470

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Das Gürzenich-Orchester Köln mit Sergej Tanejews „Johannes Damascenus“ op. 1 bei Oehms classics

Hochgeladene Datei

Am 19. Juni 2020 gedachten wir des 105. Todestags von Sergej Tanejew. Der für die russische Spätromantik so bedeutsame Komponist studierte am Moskauer Konservatorium, wo er von Nikolai Rubinstein im Klavierspiel und von Peter Tschaikowsky in Komposition ausgebildet wurde.

Nach ausgiebigen Konzertreisen begann eine lange Phase als Kompositions- und Klavierlehrer am Moskauer Konservatorium. Wegen der politischen Wirren im Zuge der Revolution von 1905 verließ Tanejew aus Protest die berühmte Lehranstalt und unterrichtete fortan privat.

Zu seinen Schülern zählten Skrjabin, Rachmaninow und Glière. Letzterer wurde später der Lehrer von Sergej Prokofjew.

Das bekannteste Werk Sergej Tanejews ist neben der Sinfonie Nr. 4 und der Canzone für Klarinette und Streicher die Kantate „Johannes Damascenus“ für gemischten Chor und Orchester op. 1.

Die 1883 bis 1884 komponierte Kantate, die beim Label Oehms classics zu einer eindrucksvollen Einspielung mit dem Gürzenich-Orchester Köln und dem Tschechischen Philharmonischen Chor Brno unter Dmitrij Kitajenkos Leitung gekommen ist, bezieht sich auf ein längeres Poem von Aleksej K. Tolstoj (1817–1875). Es geht darin um die Weltflucht des Johannes von Damaskus (ca. 650 – ca. 754), der die Hälfte seines Lebens als Mönch im Kloster Mar Saba nahe Jerusalems verbrachte. Zur Vertonung aus der langen Textvorlage gelangen in Tanejews Kantate nur sechzehn Zeilen. Diese Textstellen konzentrieren sich auf die Befreiung des Menschen aus der von Dunkelheit und Angst erfüllten Welt und die Erlösung beim Jüngsten Gericht.

Sergej Tanejew:Johannes Damascenus. Kantate für gemischten Chor und Orchester op.1
Tschechischer Philharmonischer Chor Brno
Gürzenich Orchester Köln
Ltg.: Dmitrij Kitrajenko
Oehms classics OC470

» Zeige alle News