Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

100th Birthday of Alexander Lokshin

Hochgeladene Datei

Alexander Lokshin was born on 19 September 1920 in Biysk on  the  northern  edge  of  the  Central Asian Altai Mountains. He died on June 11, 1987.

After  a  successful  training  as  a  pianist in his native city, he  went  on  to  continue his studies in Moscow  at  the  Tchaikovsky Conservatory, completing them in composition in  1941  as  a  pupil  of  Nikolai  Myaskovsky and  Heinrich  Li-tinsky. 

Following  completion  of  military  service  during  the  war,  the  24-year-old  was  appointed  teacher  of  instrumen-tation at the Moscow Conservatory.

Lokshin was active as a freelance composer from 1949 until his death in 1987. The following works are published by Sikorski: ”Margarete“ for soprano  and  chamber  orchestra,  Symphonies  Nos.  1,  2,  4  and 5 as well as the String Quintet.

Alexander Lokshin
(19.09.1920 – 11.06.1987)
100th birthday
- String Quintet
- Symphony No. 5 ”Shakespeare“
- “Sonet“ for baritone, harp and string orchestra
-  ”Margarete”. Three scenes from Goethe‘s ”Faust” for soprano and chamber orchestra

» Show all news