Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

95th birthday of Herbert Baumann on 31 July 2020

A good six months before his 95th birthday, the composer died this year on 21 January at the age of 94 in Munich. On July 31, 2020, we are to commemorate his 95th birthday, which he himself was not permitted to experience.

Baumann’s work, especially his ballet music for “Alice in Wonderland” and “Rumpelstiltskin”, but also his chamber music and orchestral works, have reached a large audience. In his cheerful manner and healthy optimism, Herbert Baumann inclined towards the dancing, rhythmic and vibrant in his music. He also composed for amateurs, frequently writing pieces that were accessible and easy to perform technically, and his goal was always to introduce people to music.  

Herbert Baumann was born on 31 July 1925 in Berlin, where he had a carefree childhood even in the shadow of the Second World War. Despite his early inclination towards music, he enrolled to study architecture at his father's request two years after the war’s end, but soon afterwards began to study conducting with Sergiu Celibidache in his first season with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and finally switched over entirely to music. He came to composing through writing a small piece for himself as a conducting exercise, which Celibidache passed on to the composition teacher Paul Höffer, who then offered Baumann free composition lessons.

As a result, Baumann studied for two years at the International Music Institute in Berlin with Paul Höffer and, after the latter's death, with Boris Blacher. At the same time, he composed as the head of stage music for the open-air stage at the Waldsee. When the position of Director of Stage Music at the Deutsches Theater Berlin became vacant, Höffer suggested the 22-year-old for this position, and for the next six years Baumann wrote many pieces of stage music for the Deutsches Theater; he also worked as a guest on numerous other theatrical stages throughout Germany.

In 1953 he joined the Staatliche Schauspielbühnen in West Berlin and moved to Munich in 1970, where he worked at the Bayerisches Staatsschauspiel, composing for three theatres simultaneously. Since 1979 Baumann has been composing freelance. In 1998 he founded the Herbert Baumann Foundation, initially to promote plucked music through concerts, competitions and festivals. In the meantime, the foundation lends support to other kinds of music as well.

31.07.2020 
Herbert Baumann 
(31.07.1925 – 21.01.2020)
95th birthday
- Mexican Suite for Orchestra
- “Rondo with Mozart” for oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon (or four clarinets)
- Ballet music “Alice in Wonderland” and “Rumpelstiltskin”

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

95. Geburtstag von Herbert Baumann am 31. Juli 2020

Hochgeladene Datei

Ein gutes halbes Jahr vor seinem 95. Geburtstag starb der Komponist in diesem Jahr am 21. Januar im Alter von 94 Jahren in München. Wir gedenken am 31. Juli 2020 nun seines 95. Geburtstages, den er nicht mehr erleben durfte.

Baumanns Schaffen, vor allem seine Ballettmusiken zu „Alice im Wunderland“ und „Rumpelstilzchen“, aber auch seine Kammermusik und Orchesterwerke, haben ein großes Publikum erreicht. In seiner fröhlichen Art und seinem gesunden Optimismus neigte Herbert Baumann in seiner Musik zum Tänzerischen, Rhythmischen und Lebendigen. Er komponierte auch für Laien, schrieb oft Stücke, die zugänglich und praktisch gut umzusetzen waren, und sein Ziel war es stets, die Menschen an die Musik heranzuführen.  

Herbert Baumann wurde am 31. Juli 1925 in Berlin geboren und hatte dort auch im Schatten des Zweiten Weltkriegs eine unbeschwerte Kindheit. Trotz seiner frühen Neigung zur Musik schrieb er sich zwei Jahre nach Kriegsende auf Wunsch seines Vaters für ein Architekturstudium ein, begann aber bald darauf, zeitgleich bei Sergiu Celibidache in dessen erster Saison bei den Berliner Philharmonikern Dirigieren zu studieren und wechselte schließlich ganz zur Musik. Zum Komponieren kam er über ein als Dirigier-Übung gedachtes selbstgeschriebenes kleines Stück, das Celibidache an den Kompositionslehrer Paul Höffer weitergab, der daraufhin Baumann kostenlosen Kompositionsunterricht anbot.

So studierte Baumann zwei Jahre lang am Internationalen Musikinstitut in Berlin bei Paul Höffer und nach dessen Tod bei Boris Blacher. Nebenbei komponierte er als Leiter der Bühnenmusik für die Freilichtbühne am Waldsee. Als am Deutschen Theater Berlin die Stelle des Direktors für Bühnenmusik frei wurde, schlug Höffer den 22-jährigen für diese vor, und für die nächsten sechs Jahre schrieb Baumann viele Bühnenmusiken für das Deutsche Theater; außerdem war er als Gast noch an vielen anderen Schauspielbühnen in ganz Deutschland tätig.

1953 wechselte er zu den Staatlichen Schauspielbühnen in West-Berlin und zog 1970 nach München, wo er am Bayerischen Staatsschauspiel arbeitete und für drei Theater gleichzeitig komponierte. Seit 1979 komponiert Baumann freiberuflich. 1998 gründete er die Herbert-Baumann-Stiftung, ursprünglich zur Förderung der Zupfmusik durch Konzerte, Wettbewerbe und Festivals. Mittlerweile wird dort auch andere Musik unterstützt.

31.07.2020 
Herbert Baumann 
(31.07.1925 – 21.01.2020)
95. Geburtstag
- Mexikanische Suite für Orchester
- „Rondo mit Mozart“ für Oboe, Klarinette, Horn und Fagott (oder vier Klarinetten)
- Ballettmusiken „Alice im Wunderland“ und „Rumpelstilzchen“

» Zeige alle News