Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

90th birthday of Nikolai Karetnikov

On 28 June 2020 we are commemorating the 90th birthday of Nikolai Karetnikov. The Russian composer and creator of the singspiel "Till Eulenspiegel" and the ballet "Klein Zaches" died in 1994.

He graduated from the Moscow Conservatory in 1953 under Vissarion Shebalin. In contrast to his contemporaries Sofia Gubaidulina, Edison Denisov or Alfred Schnittke, Karetnikov had a much harder time asserting himself outside the former Soviet Union. But he also met with hostility in his homeland on account of his blatant commitment to avant-garde compositional methods from the West, such as dodecaphony. 

In 1973 he came to Germany's attention with a production of Karetnikov's ballet music to E.T.A. Hoffmann's later tale "Klein Zaches genannt Zinnober" at the Hanover Opera House. Karetnikov was not allowed to leave the Soviet Union for the premiere. Only at the end of his life did he visit France or Switzerland, for instance, where his music, including many of his film scores, had been greatly appreciated.

One of Karetnikov's most important works aside from the ballet "Little Zaches called Vermilion" is the musical comedy " Till Eulenspiegel", which refers to the picaresque novel by the Flemish poet Charles de Coster.

28.06.2020
Nikolai Karetnikov (28.06.1930 – 10.10.1994)
90th birthday
Well known works of the composer:
- Symphony No. 3
- Chamber Symphony
- "Little Zaches called Vermilion." Ballet after E.T.A. Hoffmann
- "Till Eulenspiegel". Musical comedy 2 acts (24 scenes) by Pavel Lungin and Nikolai Karetnikov based on the "Legend of Till Eulenspiegel" by Charles de Costerr  

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

90. Geburtstag von Nikolai Karetnikow

Am 28. Juni 2020 gedenken wir des 90. Geburtstags von Nikolai Karetnikow. Der russische Komponist und Schöpfer des Singspiels „Till Eulenspiegel“ und des Balletts „Klein Zaches“ starb bereits im Jahr 1994.

Er hatte sein Studium 1953 am Moskauer Konservatorium bei Wissarion Schebalin beendet. Anders als seine Zeitgenossen Sofia Gubaidulina, Edison Denissow oder Alfred Schnittke hatte es Karetnikow durchaus schwerer, sich außerhalb der damaligen Sowjetunion durchzusetzen. Aber auch in seiner Heimat wurde er wegen seines unverhohlenen Bekenntnisses zu avantgardistischen Kompositionsmethoden aus dem Westen wie etwa der Dodekaphonie angefeindet. 

1973 wurde man in Deutschland durch eine Produktion von Karetnikows Ballettmusik zu E.T.A. Hoffmanns später Erzählung „Klein Zaches genannt Zinnober“ am Opernhaus Hannover auf ihn aufmerksam. Karetnikow durfte zur Premiere damals die Sowjetunion nicht verlassen. Erst am Ende seines Lebens besuchte er zum Beispiel Frankreich oder die Schweiz, wo man seine Musik, darunter auch viele seiner Filmmusiken, sehr zu schätzen gelernt hatte.

Eines von Karetnikows wichtigsten Werken neben dem Ballett „Klein Zaches genannt Zinnober“ ist das Singspiel „Till Eulenspiegel“, das sich auf den Schelmenroman des flämischen Dichters Charles de Coster bezieht.

28.06.2020
Nikolai Karetnikow (28.06.1930 – 10.10.1994)
90. Geburtstag
Bekannte Werke des Komponisten:
- Sinfonie Nr. 3
- Kammersinfonie
- „Klein Zaches genannt Zinnober“. Ballett nach E.T.A. Hoffmann
- „Till Eulenspiegel“. Singspiel in 2 Akten (24 Szenen) von Pawl Lungin und Nikolai Karetnikow nach der „Legende von Till Eulenspiegel“ von Charles de Coster  

» Zeige alle News