Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

The 50th anniversary of the death of Paul Celan and the setting of text to music by Ruzicka and Müller-Wieland

50 years ago, the poet Paul Celan died. He took his own life on April 20, 1970 in his adopted hometown of Paris.
Celan (born, 23 November 1920) came from Bukovina, Romania where he experienced terrible things during the war years. German and Romanian troops wiped out the seven-hundred-year history of the Jews in Czernowitz from mid-1941 onwards. His family and many friends died in the deportation camps. Throughout his life he suffered particularly badly and mourned the loss of his parents. Celan himself managed to survive in a hiding place provided for him by an industrialist and made friends with Immanuel Weissglas. During this time Celan was occupied himself intensively with works of the high German mystics, Apollinaire and Georg Trakl. In a labour camp on the Vltava, Celan was assigned to road construction, where he had to shovel heavy stones. This image recurs, among other things, in the famous verse from the Fugue of Death, "We shovel a grave in the air, there you do not lie close by".
Celan developed an extraordinary lyrical language, poems that include, as it were, silence, which have almost no literal consistency.

In many of our authors' works, texts by Paul Celan have been set to music. In the opera CELAN by Peter Ruzicka, the poet and his work itself form the focal point.

Peter Ruzicka: "... he who shattered the songs"

The last poems before Paul Celan's suicide in the Seine are magical-hieroglyphic texts, cipher-like images, signs, which - as Ruzicka puts it - can only be located on the verge of silence. Moreover, Ruzicka continues, they are "imperious in their hermetic, corresponding loneliness!
The composer has always felt a great closeness to the dark verses of the poet. The constant examination of Celan's works finally culminated in the music theatre CELAN, which is by no means an harmonious sounding biography of the poet, but rather a sequence of snapshots assembled into fragments of the poet's life and work. In reference to the cycle "... which shattered the songs" Peter Ruzicka quotes the poet Paul Celan, who once said at the award of the Büchner Prize: "Expanding art? No. Instead, go with art into your very own confinement. And set yourself free." Peter Ruzicka has also made this image the basis of his compositional concept. "The painful unsatisfactoriness of Celan's poems became the impulse for the composition that can only be: Reflection, counter-image, 'stretto' – no doubling of what is said. Also: circling without aim, standstill - feeling the nearness of death."

Jan Müller-Wieland's “Berliner Weihnachtslied" (Berlin Christmas Carol)

Jan Müller-Wieland's "Berliner Weihnachtslied" was first performed on 11 May 1996 during the Munich Biennale. It is a seven-minute setting of the poem "Du liegst" (You Lie) by Paul Celan.

"You lie in the great listening,
ambushed, snowed in.

Go to the Spree, go to the Havel,
go to the butcher hooks,
to the red apple stakes
from Sweden –

Here comes the table with the gifts,
he turns around an Eden –

The man became a sieve, the woman
had to swim, the sow,
for herself, for no one, for everyone –

The Landwehr Canal will not roar.
Nothing
stalls."
(Paul Celan)


Works in our catalogues related to Paul Celan:


Jan Müller-Wieland: Berlin Christmas Carol
Peter Ruzicka: Opera "Celan"
Peters Ruzicka: Celan Symphony
Peters Ruzicka: "...who shattered the songs"
Peter Ruzicka: "...islands, borderless..."
Peter Ruzicka: Deathfugue

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

50. Todestag von Paul Celan und Textvertonungen von Ruzicka und Müller-Wieland

Vor 50 Jahren starb der Dichter Paul Celan. Am 20. April 1970 hatte er sich in seiner Wahlheimat Paris das Leben genommen.
Celan (geboren am 23. November 1920) stammte aus Bukowina, wo er während der Kriegsjahre Schreckliches erlebte. Deutsche und rumänische Truppen hatten ab Mitte 1941 die siebenhundertjährige Geschichte der Juden in Czernowitz ausgelöscht. Celans Familie und viele Freunde starben in den Deportationslagern. Unter dem Verlust der Eltern litt Celan sein Leben lang besonders stark. Er selbst hatte in einem Versteck eines Industriellen überlebt und hier Freundschaft mit Immanuel Weissglas geschlossen. In dieser Zeit beschäftigte sich Celan intensiv mit Werken hochdeutscher Mystiker, Apollinaires und Georg Trakls. In einem Arbeitslager an der Moldau wurde Celan zum Straßenbau abkommandiert, wo er schwere Steine schaufelnd beiseite zu schaffen hatte. Dieses Bild kehrt unter anderem in dem berühmten Vers aus der Todesfuge „Wir schaufeln ein Grab in den Lüften, da liegt man nicht eng“ wieder.
Celan entwickelte eine außergewöhnliche lyrische Sprache, Gedichte, die gleichsam das Schweigen mit inkludieren, die beinahe ohne wörtliche Konsistenz auskommen.

In vielen Werken unserer Autoren wurden Texte von Paul Celan vertont. In der Oper CELAN von Peter Ruzicka stehen der Dichter und sein Schaffen selbst im Mittelpunkt.

Peter Ruzicka: „... der die Gesänge zerschlug“

Die letzten Gedichte vor Paul Celans Freitod in der Seine sind magisch-hieroglyphische Texte, chiffrenhafte Bilder, Zeichen, die – wie Ruzicka es formuliert – nur am Rande des Verstummens zu orten seien. Außerdem, so Ruzicka weiter, seien sie „herrisch in ihrer hermetischen, entsprachlichten Einsamkeit!“
Seit jeher standen dem Komponisten die dunklen Verse des Dichters nahe. Die stete Auseinandersetzung mit Celans Werken kulminierte schließlich im Musiktheater CELAN, das sich keineswegs als klingende Biographie des Dichters versteht, sondern als eine Folge von Momentaufnahmen, die sich zu Fragmenten aus dem Leben und Wirken des Dichters zusammenfügen. In Bezug auf den Zyklus „... der die Gesänge zerschlug“ zitiert Peter Ruzicka den Dichter Paul Celan, der zur Verleihung des Büchnerpreises einmal sagte: „Die Kunst erweitern? Nein. Sondern geh mit der Kunst in deine allereigenste Enge. Und setze dich frei.“ Dieses Bild hat Peter Ruzicka auch zur Grundlage seines kompositorischen Konzeptes gemacht. „Die schmerzvolle Unbefriedetheit der Gedichte Celans wurde zum Impuls der Komposition, die nur sein kann: Reflektion, Gegenbild, ‚Engführung’ – nicht Verdopplung des Gesagten. Auch: Kreisen ohne Ziel, Stillstand – Spüren der Todesnähe.“

Jan Müller-Wieland: „Berliner Weihnachtslied“

Jan Müller-Wielands „Berliner Weihnachtslied“ wurde am 11. Mai 1996 im Rahmen der Münchener Biennale uraufgeführt. Es handelt sich hierbei um eine siebenminütiges Vertonung des Gedichtes „Du liegst“ von Paul Celan.

„Du liegst im großen Gelausche,
umbuscht, umflockt.
Geh du zur Spree, geh zur Havel,
geh zu den Fleischerhaken,
zu den roten Äppelstaken
aus Schweden -
Es kommt der Tisch mit den Gaben,
er biegt um ein Eden -
Der Mann ward zum Sieb, die Frau
mußte schwimmen, die Sau,
für sich, für keinen, für jeden -
Der Landwehrkanal wird nicht rauschen.
Nichts stockt.“
(Paul Celan)

Auf Paul Celan bezogene Werke unserer Kataloge:

Jan Müller-Wieland: Berliner Weihnachtslied für Sopran und Klavier
Peter Ruzicka: Oper „Celan“
Peters Ruzicka: Celan-Symphonie für Orchester
Peters Ruzicka: „… der die Gesänge zerschlug“ für Bariton und Kammerensemble
Peter Ruzicka: „… Inseln, randlos …“ für Violine, Kammerchor und Orchester
Peter Ruzicka: „Todesfuge" Szene für Alt, Kammerensemble, Sprecher und Tonband

» Zeige alle News