Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Unfortunately canceled due to the Corona Crisis: The String Quartet No. 3 “at anchor“ by Johannes X. Schachtner in Munich

The premiere of String Quartet No. 3 „at anchor“ by Johannes X. Schachtner planned for April 20, 2020 in Munich is unfortunately canceled due to the coronavirus crisis. We will inform you about a new date in time.

Johannes X Schachtner has presented three string quartets to date. His first compositional encounter with this challenging genre took place in 2008, while still a student. He composed a one-movement quartet, for the violinist Julia Fischer, in which the tone "a" is the point of departure, escape and rest, and returns ritornello-like, with jocular episodes in between. After its premiere, the quartet was dubbed "alpha". The 2nd string quartet "quasi una serenata" followed in 2015.
Even in his most recent contribution to the genre, String Quartet No. 3 "at anchor", Schachtner has not abandoned his preference for subtitles. The new work will be premiered by the Zentaur Quartet in Munich on April 20, 2020.

The composer explains his relationship to the string quartet genre and the reasoning behind the subtitle of String Quartet No. 3 "at anchor" as follows:

“A particular challenge for the string quartet are the two violins: after overcoming the classical-romantic compositional technique, these forces of attraction have been lost, and tonal individuality takes the foreground - so after my first string quartet, the two string trios that followed were very instructive in this development process. I chose a special arrangement for my second string quartet: the second violin is tuned down by a quarter tone throughout, which gives it a special role. All four movements of the 'quasi una serenata' quartet refer to a movement form that determines the character of the movement.
The expressive spectrum ranges from the dancing first movement ('floating') to the gripping second movement ('rigid') and the almost morbid vocal movement ('hesitant') - due to the scordatura of the second violin - to the spherical last movement ('dreaming'), which concludes the work in seemingly reconciliatory manner through the 'cello serenade' accompanied by the high strings.
Immediately afterwards, reconciled with the quartet, a third string quartet entitled 'vor Anker' (at anchor) was composed, which bears a close relationship to 'pacifico' - the piano hymn for four hands. When a ship lies 'at anchor', the ship is in a state between freedom at sea and safety in port. One experiences the forces of the water but is not directly exposed to them. This floating state is the starting point of my string quartet 'at anchor', in which Franz Schubert's 'sea silence' is invoked again and again.”

Photo: (c) Dora Drexel

20.04.2020                         
Munich
UA Johannes X. Schachtner,      
String quartet Nr. 3 “at anchor”            
(Zentaur-Quartett)

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Das Streichquartett Nr. 3 „vor Anker“ von Johannes X. Schachtner wird in München uraufgeführt

Hochgeladene Datei

Johannes X. Schachtner hat bisher drei Streichquartette vorgelegt. Seine erste kompositorische Auseinandersetzung mit dem herausfordernden Genre fand 2008 noch zu Studienzeiten statt. Für die Geigerin Julia Fischer entstand damals ein einsätziges Quartett, bei dem der Ton „a“ Ausgangs-, Flucht- und Ruhepunkt ist und ritornellartig wiederkehrt, während zwischendrin scherzohafte Episoden erscheinen. Dieses Quartett erhielt nach der Uraufführung den Titel „alpha“. Im Jahr 2015 folgte das 2. Streichquartett „quasi una serenata“.
Auch beim jüngsten Beitrag zu dieser Gattung, dem Streichquartett Nr. 3 „vor Anker“, rückte Schachtner nicht von seiner Vorliebe für Untertitel ab. Das neue Werk wird am 20. April 2020 vom Zentaur Quartett in München zur Uraufführung gebracht.

Der Komponist erklärt seine Beziehung zur Streichquartettgattung und die Hintergründe zum Untertitel des Streichquartetts Nr. 3 „vor Anker“t wie folgt.

„Eine besondere Herausforderung an die Besetzung Streichquartett sind die zweifach vorkommenden Violinen: nach Überwindung der klassisch-romantischen Satztechnik haben sich diese Anziehungskräfte verloren, und die klangliche Individualität steht im Vordergrund — so waren nach meinem ersten Streichquartett die beiden danach entstandenen Streichtrios sehr lehrreich in diesem Entwicklungsprozess. Ich wählte für mein zweites Streichquartett eine besondere Disposition: die zweite Violine ist durchgängig um einen Viertelton nach unten gestimmt, wodurch ihr eine Sonderrolle zugewiesen wird. Alle vier Sätze des ‚quasi una serenata‘-Quartetts beziehen sich auf eine Bewegungsform, die den Charakter des Satzes bestimmt.
Dabei reicht das Ausdrucksspektrum von dem tänzelnden ersten Satz (‚schwebend‘) über den zupackenden zweiten Satz (‚starr‘) und dem - durch die Skordatur der zweiten Violine - fast morbiden Gesangssatz (‚zögernd‘) bis hin zum sphärischen letzten Satz (‚träumend‘), der scheinbar versöhnlich mit einer von den hohen Streichern begleiteten ‚Cello-Serenade‘ das Werk beschließt.
Unmittelbar im Anschluss entstand dann, versöhnt mit der Quartettbesetzung, ein drittes Streichquartett mit dem Titel ‚vor Anker‘, das eine große inhaltliche Nähe zum Hymnus für Klavier zu vier Händen ‚pacifico‘ hat. Liegt ein Schiff ‚vor Anker‘, so befindet sich das Schiff in einem Zustand zwischen der Freiheit auf See und der Sicherheit im Hafen. Man erlebt zwar die Kräfte des Wassers, ist ihnen aber nicht direkt ausgesetzt. Dieser Schwebezustand ist Ausgangspunkt meines Streichquartetts ‚vor Anker‘, in dem immer wieder die ‚Meeresstille‘ Franz Schuberts beschworen wird.“

20.04.2020       
München           
UA Johannes X. Schachtner,   
Streichquartett Nr. 3 ‚vor Anker“     
(Zentaur-Quartett)

» Zeige alle News