Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Postponed indefinitely: World Premiere of Marko Nikodijevic's “7 Deaths of Maria Callas” at the Bavarian State Opera in Munich

The planned world premiere of Marko Nikodijevic's spectacular opera project “7 Deaths of Maria Callas” on April 11 will be postponed indefinitely. We will inform you immediately about further developments and leave the explanatory text on this project and the exclusive interview with the composer on our website for as long as possible.

Information about the planned project “7 Deaths of Maria Callas”:
 

Why interpretations by probably the most legendary opera diva of the 20th century sound so uniquely stirring can hardly be described in words. Maria Callas’ ability to make tones blossom and let the soul literally come out in sound could is barely possible to emulate by any other singer. Furthermore, Callas’ unsurpassed role characterization and charisma shine through as they did in her public performances.
In 2017 the music world commemorated the 40th anniversary of Maria Callas’ death. The last years before the early death of the 53-year-old on September 16, 1977 were difficult for the Greek-American soprano. In 1969 she had appeared in Paolo Pasolini’s film “Medea” and gave several master classes at New York’s Juilliard School in the early 1970s, but a real comeback on the stage never materialised.
At the Bavarian State Opera in Munich on April 11, 2020, a truly spectacular opera entitled “7 Deaths of Maria Callas” by the Serbian composer Marko Nikodijević will be premiered. After the Munich premiere, the work will also be shown in Florence (IE on 04.06.2020), in Athens (GE on 08.07.2020), in Berlin (19.08.2020) and in Paris (FE on 02.09.2020).
The idea and the concept for this unusually structured piece originates from the director Marina Abramović, the musical direction is by Yoel Gamzou.
 
Marina Abramović, born in Belgrade, has been a pioneer in the field of performance art since the 1970s.  Her body is both object and medium in her pieces. Among many others, her performances have been staged at the Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris, the New National Gallery in Berlin, the Museum of Modern Art New York, the Guggenheim Museum in New York and at Documenta Abramović has received numerous awards, including the Golden Lion as best artist of the 47th Biennale di Venezia for her work Balkan Baroque. Her retrospective “The Cleaner” was to be seen in numerous European cities from 2017 to January 2020. At the Opera Ballet Vlaanderen in Antwerp she designed the stage and concept for “Pelléas et Mélisande”.
In “7 Deaths of Maria Callas” the magic number seven plays a prominent role. In the mythology of fairy tales and legends and the symbolism of the late Middle Ages in particular, the number seven has special significance. As the sum of the numbers three and four, the number seven is interpreted as a combination of spirit and soul as well as the human being. In fairy tales we encounter the Seven in several examples such as the Seven Dwarfs, the Seven Ravens or the Seven Swabians.

In Abramović’s piece, seven historical arias by Maria Callas are the source material. They are linked together by Marko Nikodijević’s intermezzo-like interludes. In addition, seven films are shown, in which Marina Abramović herself and Willem Dafoe present seven deaths, which are the subject of the famous arias sung by Callas. After which the focus of the evening becomes the real death of Maria Callas in an acting performance.
“In the performance blood is the material and the razor blade or knife are the instruments. It is about the here and now in real time. You can't rehearse a performance because many things cannot be repeated - ever," explains Marina Abramović in an interview. "(...) All people are afraid of simple things. We are afraid of suffering, we are afraid of pain, we are afraid of mortality. And I perform these fears in front of an audience. I use your energy, and with this energy I can push my body to the limits. Then I free myself from these fears. I am your mirror. If I can do it for me, you can do it for you.”

The following arias sung by Maria Callas form the starting material:
 
1. Level
Georges Bizet (1838–1875)
Carmen (UA 1875 in Paris) [French]
Brief summing up: In the end Carmen is stabbed by Don José. (knifing)
“Habanera” (Nadezhda Karyazina)
 
2. Level
Giacomo Puccini (1858–1924)
Tosca (UA 1900 Rom) [Italian]
Brief summing up: At the end Tosca crying out “O Scarpia, avanti a Dio!” (“O Scarpia, go before God”) leaps from the Engelsburg. (death jump)
“Vissi d’arte” (Whitney Morrison)
 
3. Level
Giuseppe Verdi (1813–1901)
Otello (UA 1887 Milan) [Italian]
Brief summing up: In the end, out of jealousy, Otello strangles his wife Desdemona. (strangling)
“Ave Maria” (Leah Hawkins)
 
4. Level
Gaetano Donizetti (1797–1848)
Lucia di Lammermoor (UA 1835 Naples) [Italian]
Madness aria Il dolce suono (Adela Zaharia)
Brief summing up: Lucia di Lammermoor goes insane and kills her new husband Arturo on her wedding night. (Murder due to madness)
 
5. Level
Vincenzo Bellini (1801–1835)
Norma (UA 1831 Milan) [Italian]
Brief summing up: In the end Norma sacrifices herself and goes to the stake. (sacrifice)
“Casta Diva” (Selene Zanetti)
 
6. Level
Giacomo Puccini (1858–1924)
Madame Butterfly (UA 1904 Milan/Brescia) [Italian]
Brief summing up: At the end she runs herself through. (hara-kiri) (suicide)
“Un bel dì vedremo” (Gabriella Reyes)
 
7. Level
Giuseppe Verdi (1813–1901)
La Traviata (UA 1853 Venice) [Italian]
Brief summing up: At the Violetta dies from consumption. (death from exhaustion)
“Addio del passato” (Hera Hyesang Park)
 
8. Level
Maria Callas (1923–1977)
Brief summing up: On 16 September 1977 Maria Callas dies at the age of 53 Jahren in Paris, Avenue Georges Mandel Nr. 36, of a heart attack.
 
Exclusive interview with the composer Marko Nikodijević:
 
What gave you the idea for this project?
 
Nikodijević: Marina Abramović has carried this idea of the seven deaths of Maria Callas around with her for years. It changed several times. Then Nikolaus Bachler convinced her of its worth and asked her if she could imagine an opera based on this idea. After which they asked for a composer and Teodor Currentzis and Nikolaus Bachler suggested me.
I got to know Marina Abramović. And as is the case among Serbs: either you like each other in the first second or you don't like each other at all. We got along very well right away.
 
Do you have a special relationship to Maria Callas?
 
Nikodijević: She really is the prima donna assoluta of the 20th century. There is the singer's very short career, her tragic life and the story, that creates a mystery. And then at the age of 53 she died quite young. Like an unfinished, but actually very finished singer, as she reached a peak extremely young. And then very quickly withdrew from the stage again. Callas was a personality who packed the gossip pages during her lifetime. An interesting woman, of course, with a life story that doesn't appear that conventional.
 
I have the idea that in this opera original recordings are combined with your music. Is that correct?
 
Nikodijević: There are seven historical arias associated with Maria Callas. And that happens in the first part of the evening. And these seven arias are connected by my music. In addition to these seven arias, seven films were made with Willem Dafoe and Marina Abramović, where the seven ways of death we associate with these arias are shown. For Madame Butterfly it is hara-kiri, for Carmen it is murder by knife, for "La Traviata" it is death by tuberculosis, etc.
Then comes a second part, which, so to speak, represents the real death with Marina on stage. There is actually a modified Maria Callas voice coming out of the loudspeaker.
It's also an opera about the fact that in this genre something terrible happens so often, especially to women. In this sense, it is also a reflection of the fact that women are constantly having to take on some manner of the victim role in opera.
 
Are the seven arias to be heard in their original historical recordings?
 
Nikodijević: They can be heard in the original. But they are connected with music like in a huge movie. Against this background Marina Abramović tells us what we will see on each occasion.
 
Can you say a few words about your connecting musical parts? How are we to imagine them?
 
Nikodijević: It is music that sounds as if the arias are flowing on. It's conceived in the way a DJ would mix two songs. An element from one song meets an element from the other and both are mixed together. This goes from one piece of music to the other without any transitory means. So in no way, do you have the feeling that any aria has been erased from what follows on. My composite music is a transition piece that solves this as imperceptibly as possible. 
 
On the piece:
 
“7 Deaths of Maria Callas”
- The cast
 
An opera project by Marina Abramović • 2020
With music by Marko Nikodijević and scenes from works by Georges Bizet, Gaetano Donizetti, Giacomo Puccini, Giuseppe Verdi and Vincenzo Bellini
 
Musical direction Yoel Gamzou
Direction and state Marina Abramović
Film direction Nabil Elderkin
Screenplay Petter Skavlan
Costume Riccardo Tisci
Light Urs Schönebaum
Dramaturgy Benedikt Stampfli
Performer Marina Abramović
Film actor Willem Dafoe
Carmen Nadezhda Karyazina
Floria Tosca Whitney Morrison
Desdemona Leah Hawkins
Lucia Ashton Adela Zaharia
Norma Selene Zanetti
Cio-Cio-San Gabriella Reyes
Violetta Valéry Hera Hyesang Park
 
Performances:
 
11.04.2020      
Munich          
UA Marko Nikodijević,      
“7 Deaths of Maria Callas”
(Bayerische Staatsoper Munich, Director: Marina Abramović      
Conductor: Yoel Gamzou)  
 
Follow-up performances:
 
04.06.2020      
Florenee              
IE “7 Deaths of Maria Callas”      
 
08.07.2020      
Athens              
GE “7 Deaths of Maria Callas”        
                  
19.08.2020      
Berlin              
“7 Deaths of Maria Callas”        
 
02.09.2020      
Paris              
FE “7 Deaths of Maria Callas”
 
Photo of the composer: (c) Aleksandar Stanojevic

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Auf unbestimmte Zeit verschoben: Uraufführung von Marko Nikodijevićs „7 Deaths of Maria Callas“ an der Bayerischen Staatsoper München

Hochgeladene Datei

Die geplante Uraufführung von Marko Nikodijevics spektakulärem Opernprojekt „7 Deaths of Maria Callas“ am 11. April wird endgültig auf unbestimmte Zeit verschoben. Wir werden Sie umgehend über weitere Entwicklungen informieren und lassen den erklärenden Text zu diesem Projekt sowie das Exklusiv-Interview mit dem Komponisten so lange auf unserer Website stehen.

Informationen zum geplanten Projekt "7 Deaths of Maria Callas":

Warum die Interpretationen der wohl legendärsten Operndiva des 20. Jahrhunderts so einzigartig ergreifend klingen, lässt sich mit Worten kaum beschreiben. Maria Callas’ Fähigkeit, Töne aufblühen und die Seele im Klang förmlich nach außen dringen zu lassen, konnte von kaum einer anderen Sängerin je kopiert werden. Dazu kommt Callas‘ unübertroffene Rollencharakterisierung und ihr Charisma auch im Rahmen ihrer öffentlichen Auftritte.
2017 gedachte die Musikwelt des 40. Todestags von Maria Callas. Die letzten Jahre vor dem frühen Tod der 53-jährigen am 16. September 1977 waren für die griechisch-amerikanische Sopranistin schwer. 1969 hatte sie noch im Paolo-Pasolini-Film „Medea“ mitgewirkt und gab zu Beginn der siebziger Jahre einige Meisterkurse an der New Yorker Juilliard School, ein echtes Comeback auf die Bühne gelang ihr aber nicht mehr.
An der Bayerischen Staatsoper München kommt es am 11. April 2020 zur Uraufführung einer wahrhaft spektakulären Oper mit dem Titel „7 Deaths of Maria Callas“ des serbischen Komponisten Marko Nikodijević. Nach der Münchner Uraufführung wird das Werk auch gleich in Florenz (IE am 04.06.2020), in Athen (GE am 08.07.2020), in Berlin (19.08.2020) und in Paris (FE am 02.09.2020) gezeigt. 
Die Idee und das Konzept zu diesem ungewöhnlich aufgebauten Stück stammt von der Regisseurin Marina Abramović, die musikalische Leitung hat Yoel Gamzou.

Das Konzept

Marina Abramović, geboren in Belgrad, ist seit den 1970er-Jahren Pionierin im Bereich der Performance-Kunst. In ihren Stücken ist ihr Körper sowohl Gegenstand als auch Medium. Ihre Performances wurden u.a. im Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris, der Neuen Nationalgalerie in Berlin, dem Museum of Modern Art New York, dem New Yorker Guggenheim Museum und bei der Documenta aufgeführt. Abramović erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter für ihr Werk Balkan Baroque den Goldenen Löwen als beste Künstlerin der 47. Biennale di Venezia. Ihre Retrospektive „The Cleaner“ ist von 2017 bis Januar 2020 in zahlreichen europäischen Metropolen zu sehen. Am Opera Ballet Vlaanderen in Antwerpen gestaltete sie Bühne und Konzept für „Pelléas et Mélisande“.
In den „7 Deaths of Maria Callas” spielt die magische Zahl Sieben eine herausragende Rolle. In der Mythologie der Märchen- und Sagenwelten und der Symbolik besonders des Spätmittelalters kommen der Sieben besondere Bedeutungen zu. Als Summe der Zahlen Drei und Vier, wird die Sieben als Kombination von Geist und Seele sowie des Menschlichen gedeutet. Im Märchen begegnen wir der Sieben in etlichen Beispielen wie den Sieben Zwergen, den Sieben Raben oder den Sieben Schwaben.
In Abramovićs Stück sind sieben historische Arien von Maria Callas das Ausgangsmaterial. Sie werden von intermezzoartigen Zwischenspielen Marko Nikodijevićs miteinander verbunden. Dazu laufen sieben Filme, in denen Marina Abramović selbst und William Dafoe sieben Tode zur Darstellung bringt, die in den von Callas gesungenen berühmten Arien thematisiert sind. Danach tritt der wirkliche Tod der Maria Callas in einer schauspielerischen Darstellung in den Fokus des Abends.
„Bei der Performance ist Blut das Material und die Rasierklinge oder das Messer sind die Instrumente. Es geht um das Hier und Jetzt in Echtzeit. Eine Performance kann man nicht proben, weil viele Dinge nicht wiederholt werden können – niemals“, sagte Marina Abramović in einem Gespräch. „(...) Alle Menschen haben Angst vor einfachen Dingen. Wir haben Angst vor dem Leiden, wir haben Angst vor dem Schmerz, wir fürchten uns vor der Sterblichkeit. Und ich führe diese Ängste vor einem Publikum auf. Ich nutze Ihre Energie, und mit dieser Energie kann ich meinen Körper an die Grenzen bringen. Dann befreie ich mich von diesen Ängsten. Ich bin Ihr Spiegel. Wenn ich das für mich tun kann, können Sie es für sich auch tun.“

Folgende von Maria Callas gesungene Arien bilden das Ausgangsmaterial:

1. Level
Georges Bizet (1838–1875)
Carmen (UA 1875 in Paris) [französisch]
Bemerkung: Am Ende wird Carmen von Don José erstochen. (Erstechen)
“Habanera” (Nadezhda Karyazina)

2. Level
Giacomo Puccini (1858–1924)
Tosca (UA 1900 Rom) [italienisch]
Bemerkung: Am Ende stürzt sich Tosca mit dem Ausruf „O Scarpia, avanti a Dio!“ („Oh Scarpia, zu Gott!“) von der Engelsburg. (Todessprung)
“Vissi d’arte” (Whitney Morrison)

3. Level
Giuseppe Verdi (1813–1901)
Otello (UA 1887 Mailand) [italienisch]
Bemerkung: Aus Eifersucht erwürgt am Ende Otello seine Frau Desdemona. (Erwürgen)
“Ave Maria” (Leah Hawkins)

4. Level
Gaetano Donizetti (1797–1848)
Lucia di Lammermoor (UA 1835 Neapel) [italienisch]
Wahnsinnsarie Il dolce suono (Adela Zaharia)
Bermerkung: Lucia di Lammermoor wird wahnsinnig und bringt in der Hochzeitsnacht ihren neuen Ehemann Arturo um. (Mord im Wahnsinn)

5. Level
Vincenzo Bellini (1801–1835)
Norma (UA 1831 Mailand) [italienisch]
Bemerkung: Am Ende opfert Norma sich selbst und geht auf den Scheiterhaufen. (Todesopfer)
“Casta Diva” (Selene Zanetti)

6. Level
Giacomo Puccini (1858–1924)
Madama Butterfly (UA 1904 Mailand/Brescia) [italienisch]
Bemerkung: Am Ende ersticht sie sich selbst. (Harakiri) (Selbstmord)
“Un bel dì vedremo” (Gabriella Reyes)

7. Level
Giuseppe Verdi (1813–1901)
La Traviata (UA 1853 Venedig) [italienisch]
Bemerkung: Am Ende stirbt Violetta aufgrund ihrer Schwindsucht. (Tod durch Erschöpfung)
“Addio del passato” (Hera Hyesang Park)

8. Level
Maria Callas (1923–1977)
Bemerkung: Am 16. September 1977 starb Maria Callas im Alter von 53 Jahren in Paris, Avenue Georges Mandel Nr. 36, an einem Herzinfarkt. 
 
Exklusiv-Interview mit dem Komponisten Marko Nikodijević:

Wie sind Sie auf dieses Projekt gekommen?

Nikodijević: Marina Abramović hat diese Idee der sieben Tode von Maria Callas jahrelang mit sich herumgetragen. Das änderte sich mehrere Male. Dann hat Nikolaus Bachler sie überzeugt und gefragt, ob sie sich auch eine Oper auf der Grundlage dieser Idee vorstellen könnte. Dann hat man die Frage nach einem Komponisten gestellt und Teodor Currentzis und Nikolaus Bachler haben mich vorgeschlagen.
Ich habe Marina Abramović kennen gelernt. Und wie das unter Serben so ist: Entweder man mag sich gleich in der ersten Sekunde oder man mag sich überhaupt nicht. Wir haben uns sofort sehr gut verstanden.

Haben Sie zu Maria Callas denn ein besonderes Verhältnis?

Nikodijević: Sie ist schon die Prima donna assoluta des 20. Jahrhunderts. Da ist die sehr kurze Karriere dieser Sängerin, das tragische Leben und die Geschichte, das macht ein Mysterium. Und dann ist sie relativ jung im Alter von 53 Jahren gestorben. Wie eine unfertige, aber auch eine sehr fertige Sängerin, weil sie sehr jung einen Gipfel erreicht hat. Und dann auch sehr schnell sich wieder von der Bühne zurückzog. Callas war eine Persönlichkeit, die schon zu Lebzeiten die Klatschblätter füllte. Natürlich eine interessante Frau mit einer Lebensgeschichte, die nicht so konventionell erscheint.

Ich stelle mir vor, dass in dieser Oper Originalaufnahmen mit Ihrer Musik kombiniert werden. Ist das richtig?

Nikodijević: Es gibt sieben historische Arien, die man mit Maria Callas verbindet. Und das passiert im ersten Teil des Abends. Und diese sieben Arien werden von meiner Musik miteinander verbunden. Zu diesen sieben Arien wurden außerdem sieben Filme gedreht mit William Dafoe und Marina Abramović, wo die sieben Todesarten, die wir mit diesen Arien verbinden, dargestellt werden. Für Madama Butterfly ist es Harakiri, für Carmen ist es das Ermorden durch ein Messer, für „La Traviata“ ist es der Tod an Tuberkulose usw.
Danach kommt ein zweiter Teil, der sozusagen den realen Tod mit Marina auf der Bühne darstellt. Da kommt tatsächlich auch eine verarbeitete Maria-Callas-Stimme aus dem Lautsprecher.
Es ist auch eine Oper darüber, dass in diesem Genre vor allem den Frauen so oft etwas Furchtbares zustößt. Es ist in dem Sinne auch eine Reflexion, dass Frauen ständig irgendwelche Opferrollen in der Oper annehmen müssen.

Erklingen die sieben Arien in historischen Originalaufnahmen?

Nikodijević: Sie erklingen im Original. Sie sind aber verbunden mit einer Musik wie in einem riesigen Film. Vor diesem Hintergrund erzählt Marina Abramović, was wir jeweils sehen werden.

Können Sie ein paar Worte zu Ihren verbindenden Musikteilen sagen? Wie können wir uns das vorstellen?

Nikodijević: Es sind Musiken, die so klingen, als würden die Arien weiterfließen. Es ist so gedacht, wie ein DJ zwei Songs mischen würde. Ein Element aus dem einen Stück begegnet einem Element aus dem anderen und beide werden zusammengemischt. Das geht ohne transitorische Mittel von einer Musik in die andere. So, dass man überhaupt nicht das Gefühl hat, irgendeine Arie wird vom Folgenden wegradiert. Meine Verbundmusiken sind Durchgangsstücke, die das möglichst unmerklich lösen.  

Zum Stück:

„7 Deaths of Maria Callas“
- Die Besetzung

Ein Opernprojekt von Marina Abramović • 2020
Mit Musik von Marko Nikodijević und Szenen aus Werken von Georges Bizet, Gaetano Donizetti, Giacomo Puccini und Giuseppe Verdi und Vincenzo Bellini

Musikalische Leitung Yoel Gamzou
Regie und Bühne Marina Abramović
Filmregie Nabil Elderkin
Drehbuchautor Petter Skavlan
Kostüme Riccardo Tisci
Licht Urs Schönebaum
Dramaturgie Benedikt Stampfli
Performerin Marina Abramović
Filmdarsteller Willem Dafoe
Carmen Nadezhda Karyazina
Floria Tosca Whitney Morrison
Desdemona Leah Hawkins
Lucia Ashton Adela Zaharia
Norma Selene Zanetti
Cio-Cio-San Gabriella Reyes
Violetta Valéry Hera Hyesang Park

Aufführungen:

11.04.2020       
München           
UA Marko Nikodijević,       
„7 Deaths of Maria Callas“
(Bayerische Staatsoper Münchem, Regie: Marina Abramović       
Ltg.: Yoel Gamzou)   

Folgeaufführungen:

04.06.2020       
Florenz               
IE „7 Deaths of Maria Callas“       

08.07.2020       
Athen               
GE „7 Deaths of Maria Callas“         
                   
19.08.2020       
Berlin               
„7 Deaths of Maria Callas“         

02.09.2020       
Paris               
FE „7 Deaths of Maria Callas“

Foto des Komponisten: (c) Aleksandar Stanojevic

» Zeige alle News