Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

A Beethoven and Diabelli homage of a special kind: Lera Auerbach’s “Diabellical Waltz”

Ludwig van Beethoven dominates this year's concert programmes, and there is a remarkable series of world premieres of new pieces by contemporary composers, which deal with his music but also with his person. The gifted Beethoven interpreter Rudolf Buchbinder, the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna and a long list of other associated institutions also had an original idea. They took a major work by the master as an impetus for commissions to contemporary composers. The Russian-American composer Lera Auerbach was also asked to create a piano variation of her own for the project "Diabelli 2020". The background is the waltz in C major, which the Viennese music publisher Anton Diabelli had composed and sent to a number of composers of his day with the request to compose variations based on this piece. The Buchbinder project now carries this idea into the 21st century. Buchbinder was inspired by the 33 variations on a waltz by Anton Diabelli, op. 120 by Beethoven, which hold a special place in the composer's oeuvre and have played a decisive role in the art of variation in subsequent epochs.

Rudolf Buchbinder explains:

"Hans von Bülow, the conductor and pianist, once called the Diabelli Variations the "microcosm of Beethoven's genius". For me, the Diabelli Variations reveal Beethoven's greatness: humorous, angry, melancholy or swinging - there is no state of mind that he does not describe here. Moreover, the Diabelli Variations are music about music. In 1819 the Viennese music publisher Anton Diabelli sent a small waltz to various composers and asked them to create an individual variation. Beethoven himself did not reply with one variation, but - after four years of work - with 33 variations. For me, the 250th anniversary of Beethoven's birth was the occasion to ask eleven composers of our time, all of whom I am connected to in one way or another, for a variation on this waltz by Diabelli as well. In this way I play Beethoven's masterpiece in the context of his and our contemporaries. The New Diabelli Variations are a bow to Beethoven's genius."

On 3 March 2020 the world premiere of the "New Variations on a Waltz by Anton Diabelli" will take place in Vienna. In addition to these new variations, Rudolf Buchbinder will also play the original Diabelli Variations from 1819 as well as Beethoven's Diabelli Variation op. 120 as part of his Diabelli programme. In addition to Lera Auerbach with her "Diabellical Waltz", contributions will also be made by Brett Dean, Toshio Hosokawa, Brad Lubman, Philippe Manoury, Krzysztof Penderecki, Max Richter, Rodion Shchedrin, Johannes Maria Staud, Tan Dun and Jörg Widmann.

The "New Variations on a Waltz by Diabelli" are a commission from the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna, the Brucknerhaus Linz, Centro Nacional de Difusión Musical Madrid, Gewandhaus zu Leipzig, Gulbenkian Foundation Lisbon, National Centre for the Performing Arts Beijing, Palau de la Música Catalana Barcelona, Philharmonie de Paris, Stars of the White Nights Festival St. Petersburg, Stiftung Klavier-Festival Ruhr, Suntory Hall Tokyo and Tonhalle-Gesellschaft Zurich, supported by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation. Rudolf Buchbinder will perform his Diabelli Variations programme with all these commissioners and at various other venues worldwide until 2021, the year of his 75th birthday. In March 2020 Deutsche Grammophon will release Buchbinder's recording of his variation programme on CD ('The Diabelli Project').

03.03.2020
Vienna
UA Lera Auerbach:
Diabellical Waltz
Rudolf Buchbinder (piano)
Commissioned by the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna, the Brucknerhaus Linz, Centro Nacional de Difusión Musical Madrid, Gewandhaus zu Leipzig, Gulbenkian Foundation Lisbon, National Centre for the Performing Arts Beijing, Palau de la Música Catalana Barcelona, Philharmonie de Paris, Stars of the White Nights Festival St. Petersburg, Stiftung Klavier-Festival Ruhr, Suntory Hall Tokyo and Tonhalle-Gesellschaft Zurich, supported by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation

» Show all news

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Eine Beethoven- und Diabelli-Hommage der besonderen Art: Lera Auerbachs „Diabellical Waltz“

Hochgeladene Datei

Ludwig van Beethoven beherrscht die Konzertprogramme dieses Jahres, und es gibt eine beachtliche Reihe von Uraufführungen neuer Stücke zeitgenössischer Komponisten, die sich mit seiner Musik, aber auch mit seiner Person auseinandersetzen. Eine originelle Idee hatten auch der begnadete Beethoven-Interpret Rudolf Buchbinder, die Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien und eine lange Reihe weiterer angeschlossener Institutionen. Sie nahmen ein zentrales Werk des Meisters zum Anlass von Kompositionsaufträgen an Gegenwartskomponisten. Auch die russisch-amerikanische Komponistin Lera Auerbach wurde gebeten, bei dem Projekt „Diabelli 2020“ eine ganz eigene Klaviervariation zu schaffen. Den Hintergrund bildet der Walzer C-Dur, den der Wiener Musikverleger Anton Diabelli komponiert und an eine Reihe von Komponisten seiner Zeit mit der Bitte gesandt hatte, auf der Grundlage dieses Stückes Variationen zu komponieren. Das Buchbinder-Projekt überträgt diese Idee nun ins 21. Jahrhundert. Als Inspiration für diese Idee dienten Buchbinder die 33 Veränderungen über einen Walzer von Anton Diabelli op. 120 von Beethoven, die im Schaffen des Komponisten einen besonderen Platz behaupten und die Variationskunst der nachfolgenden Epochen maßgeblich begleitet haben.

Rudolf Buchbinder erläutert:

„Hans von Bülow, der Dirigent und Pianist, nannte die Diabelli-Variationen einmal den „Mikrokosmos Beethovenschen Genius“. Für mich wird in den Diabelli-Variationen die Größe Beethovens deutlich: humorvoll, wütend, melancholisch oder swingend – es gibt keinen Seelenzustand, den er hier nicht beschreibt. Außerdem sind die Diabelli-Variationen Musik über Musik. Im Jahre 1819 schickte der Wiener Musikverleger Anton Diabelli einen kleinen Walzer an verschiedene Komponisten und bat sie um eine individuelle Variation. Allein Beethoven antwortete nicht mit einer Variation, sondern – nach vier Jahren Arbeit – mit 33 Veränderungen. Für mich war der 250. Geburtstag Beethovens Anlass, elf Komponisten unserer Zeit, denen allen ich auf die ein oder andere Weise verbunden bin, ebenfalls um eine Variation auf diesen Walzer von Diabelli zu bitten. So spiele ich Beethovens Meisterwerk im Kontext seiner und unserer Zeitgenossen. Die Neuen Diabelli-Variationen sind eine Verbeugung vor dem Beethovenschen Genius.“

Am 3. März 2020 erfolgt die Uraufführung der „Neuen Variationen über einen Walzer von Anton Diabelli“ in Wien. Außer diesen neuen Variationen spielt Rudolf Buchbinder im Rahmen seines Diabelli-Programms auch die originalen Diabelli-Variationen von 1819 sowie Beethovens Diabelli-Variation op. 120. Neben Lera Auerbach mit ihrem „Diabellical Waltz“ haben auch Brett Dean, Toshio Hosokawa, Brad Lubman, Philippe Manoury, Krzysztof Penderecki, Max Richter, Rodion Shchedrin, Johannes Maria Staud, Tan Dun und Jörg Widmann Beiträge geleistet.

Die „Neuen Variationen über einen Walzer von Diabelli“ sind ein Kompositionsauftrag der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien, vom Brucknerhaus Linz, Centro Nacional de Difusión Musical Madrid, Gewandhaus zu Leipzig, Gulbenkian Foundation Lisbon, National Centre for the Performing Arts Beijing, Palau de la Música Catalana Barcelona, Philharmonie de Paris, Stars of the White Nights Festival St. Petersburg, Stiftung Klavier-Festival Ruhr, Suntory Hall Tokyo und Tonhalle-Gesellschaft Zürich, gefördert durch die Ernst von Siemens-Musikstiftung. Rudolf Buchbinder wird sein Diabelli-Variationsprogramm bei all diesen Auftraggebern und an verschiedenen anderen Orten weltweit bis 2021 aufführen, dem Jahr seines 75. Geburtstags. Im März 2020 veröffentlicht die Deutsche Grammophon Buchbinders Einspielung seines Variationsprogramms auf CD (‚The Diabelli Project‘).

Bild: Anton Diabelli

03.03.2020
Wien
UA Lera Auerbach:
Diabellical Waltz
Rudolf Buchbinder (Klavier)
Auftragswerk der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien, vom Brucknerhaus Linz, Centro Nacional de Difusión Musical Madrid, Gewandhaus zu Leipzig, Gulbenkian Foundation Lisbon, National Centre for the Performing Arts Beijing, Palau de la Música Catalana Barcelona, Philharmonie de Paris, Stars of the White Nights Festival St. Petersburg, Stiftung Klavier-Festival Ruhr, Suntory Hall Tokyo und Tonhalle-Gesellschaft Zürich, gefördert durch die Ernst von Siemens-Musikstiftung

» Zeige alle News