Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Armenian premiere of Lera Auerbach's “Dialogues with Stabat Mater” in Yerevan

The violinist Chatschatur Almasian and the violist Maxim Novikov are the soloists in the Armenian premiere of Lera Auerbach's work "Dialogues with Stabat Mater" for violin, viola, vibraphone and string orchestra on December 19, 2019 in Yerevan. They will be accompanied by the State Armenian Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Constantine Orbelian.

The composer comments on her work:

“My ‘Dialogues on Stabat Mater’ are an experiment. On the one hand, I attempted to re-write selected movements from Pergolesi’s famous masterwork into a kind of concerto grosso for violin, viola and chamber orchestra whilst remaining true to the spirit of the original work, so that an abstract instrumental piece could be made out of a sacred vocal work. On the other hand, I hoped to create a kind of framework in this manner, a dialogue, a new perspective on a well-known subject. And in this dialogue I did not so much want to proceed from the aesthetic differences in culture and harmonic language between the 18th and 21st centuries, but rather from their similarities which, incidentally, are much more fascinating. The image of a suffering mother is universal – like pain, even though the forms of expression may differ according to the religious or cultural background.
A dialogue can take place on different levels. Is it a dialogue between mother and child, beginning and end, musician and public, soli and tutti, understanding and desolation? Or is the difference between vocal and purely instrumental, between sacred and everyday language, between monologue and dialogue perhaps not so great? Every prayer is a dialogue, even if the person being addressed is not present. And whom am I addressing with my work?”

12/19/2019
Yerevan
Armenian First Performance
Lera Auerbach,
"Dialogues with Stabat Mater" for violin, viola, vibraphone and string orchestra
(Chatschatur Almasian, violin
Maxim Novikov, viola
State Armenian Chamber Orchestra
Lead: Constantine Orbelian)

Komponistensuche

Suche nach Nachnamen

Detailsuche

Repertoiresuche

Katalogsuche

Armenische Erstaufführung von Lera Auerbachs „Dialoge mit Stabat Mater“ in Jerewan

Hochgeladene Datei

Der armenische Geiger Chatschatur Almasian und der Bratschist Maxim Novikov sind die Solisten bei der armenischen Erstaufführung von Lera Auerbachs Werk „Dialoge mit Stabat Mater“ für Violine, Viola, Vibraphon und Streichorchester am 19. Dezember 2019 in Jerewan. Sie werden vom Staatlichen Armenischen Kammerorchester unter der Leitung von Constantine Orbelian begleitet.

Die Komponistin beschreibt ihr Werk mit folgenden Worten:
„Meine ‚Dialogues on Stabat Mater’ sind ein Experiment. Zum einen war es mein Bestreben, ausgewählte Sätze aus Pergolesis berühmtem Meisterwerk zu einer Art Concerto grosso für Violine, Viola und Kammerorchester umzuschreiben, dabei aber dem Geist des Originalwerks treu zu bleiben, so dass aus einem geistlichen Vokalwerk ein abstraktes Instrumentalstück werden konnte. Zum anderen hoffte ich, auf diese Weise eine Art Rahmen zu schaffen, einen Dialog, eine neue Perspektive auf ein bekanntes Thema. Und ich wollte bei diesem Dialog nicht so sehr von den ästhetischen Unterschieden in Kultur und Harmonik des 18. und 21. Jahrhunderts ausgehen, sondern vielmehr von den Gemeinsamkeiten, was im übrigen weitaus faszinierender ist. Das Bild einer leidenden Mutter ist universell – wie auch der Schmerz, wenngleich dessen Ausdrucksformen je nach kulturellem oder religiösem Hintergrund verschiedenartig sein mögen.
Ein Dialog kann auf verschiedenen Ebenen stattfinden. Handelt es sich um einen Dialog zwischen Mutter und Kind, Anfang und Ende, Musiker und Publikum, Soli und Tutti, Verständnis und Verlassenheit? Oder ist der Unterschied zwischen vokal und rein instrumental, zwischen der geistlichen und der Umgangssprache, zwischen Monolog und Dialog vielleicht gar nicht so groß? Jedes Gebet ist ein Dialog, auch wenn der darin Angesprochene nicht präsent sein mag. Und wen spreche ich mit meinem Werk an?“

Foto der Komponistin: (c) Nora Feller

19.12.2019       
Jerewan           
Arm. EA Lera Auerbach,
„Dialoge mit Stabat Mater“ für Violine, Viola, Vibraphon und Streichorchester
(Chatschatur Almasian, Violine
Maxim Novikov, Viola
Staatl. Armenisches Kammerorchester
Ltg.: Constantine Orbelian) 

» Zeige alle News