Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

First performance of Sonata No. 4 for violin and piano by Lera Auerbach in Kingston

Lera Auerbach's cycle of violin sonatas began at the turn of the millennium. This was followed by the 2nd Violin Sonata in 2002 and the 3rd Violin Sonata in 2005 after the creation of the Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 1 in the year 2000. The Second Violin Sonata takes on a special position in the cycle, as it is directly related to the terrorist attacks of 11 September. Only one day after the devastating and world changing events, Auerbach began to write the work in 2002.
Up to the composition of the Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 4 "Fracured Dreams", which will be premiered by the violinist Hilary Hahn and the composer herself at the piano on 4 August 2019 in Kingston (USA), fourteen years passed after the third Violin Sonata. The premiere of the new work is part of the Kingston Chamber Music Festival.

Kingston (USA)
World premiere: Lera Auerbach,
Sonata No. 4 for violin and piano
(Hilary Hahn, violin
Lera Auerbach, piano)
- Kingston Chamber Music Festival -

Further performances:

08/07 and 08/08/2019
Skaneateles (USA)

Photo: (c) Nora Feller

» Show all news