Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Trout Quintet for piano by multiple Sikorski composers now on CD

Last year, pianist Silke Avenhaus suggested to contemporary composers Ferran Cruixent, Dejan Lazić, Osmo Tapio Räihälä, Gerald Resch and Johannes X. Schachtner that they revisit Franz Schubert’s famed Trout Quintet. The resulting piano quintet consisting of contributions from these talented composers received its world premiere on 2 October 2018.

Silke Avenhaus commented on the project:

“Our aim was to extend Schubert’s Trout Quintet by adding a modern compositional perspective, giving this unrivalled gem of chamber music a new topicality. At the same time, we wanted to provide a new way for an inquisitive audience to approach and experience it.
Here, five young European composers engage with the ‘Trout’ theme in their own individual way, creating five variations that take up, interpret or distort it in a wide variety of ways.
It was a stroke of luck that these new variations complement each other in the most exciting ways even though the composers didn’t coordinate their work. The palette of works stretches from an ironic ‘trout’ waltz across a musical rendering of Schubert’s initials, F.SCH., in a delirious, masterfully Bartók-esque 5/8 piece through to a ‘Cybervariation’ that uses a mobile app to mimic the sound of a warped vinyl LP. Lasting around 25 minutes, the original compositions included here can be performed subsequently to the Trout Quintet or as a stand-alone work.”
Released together with Schubert’s Trout Quintet as a recording by SWR, this unusual work is available on CD on the Avi Music label. The recording is performed by Lena Neudauer (violin), Wen Xiao Zheng (viola), Janulo Ishizaka (cello), Rick Stotijn (double bass) and Silke Avenhaus (piano).

Schubert Trouts
Ferran Cruixent: Cybervariation
Gerald Resch: Pond and Source
Johannes X. Schachtner: Postscript to Franz Schubert’s Trout Quintet
Dejan Lazić: The Trout Pond
Osmo Tapio Räihälä: Kirkasvetinen
Lena Neudauer (violin), Wen Xiao Zheng (viola), Janulo Ishizaka (cello), Rick Stotijn (double bass) and Silke Avenhaus (piano).
AviMusic 8553408

» Show all news