Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf nominated for the German Music Authors Award 2018

Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf is nominated in the category "Composition Experiment Voice" for the German Music Authors Award 2018. On March 15, 2018, GEMA will award the coveted prize sculpture to outstanding composers for the tenth time.
The reasoning of the jury reads:
"For the section 'Experiment Stimme' are especially Mahnkopf's compositions 'more water' for Chor a cappella (2015), 'angela nova' for soprano and ensemble (1999/2000), 'void - un delitto italiano' for vocal ensemble (2009) , "Mon cœur mis a nu" for soprano, alto, tenor and bass (1997), 'finite jest' for flute and soprano (2014), 'ese apie vandenis' for baritone solo (2015) and, angela nova 2' for Soprano (1999/2000). (...)
For more than two decades, Mahnkopf has developed a vocal compositional style characterized by complexity, virtuosity and a complexity that requires the simultaneous performance of cantilenas, solos, spoken and often phonetically alienated texts and forms of expression such as rattling, shrieking, groaning, whimpering and more. This creates a strong expressiveness that is characterized by deep human, archaic and existential aspects."

» Show all news