Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Swiss Premiere of Triple Concerto by Sofia Gubaidulina

In early 2017 the Russian composer Sofia Gubaidulina completed her Triple Concerto for violin, violoncello, bayan and orchestra for the Boston Symphony Orchestra, Carnegie Hall, the NDR Radio Philharmonic in Hannover and the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra. The violinist Baiba Skride, cellist Harriet Krijgh and bayanist Elsbeth Moser, with the support of the Boston Symphony Orchestra conducted by Andris Nelsons, performed the world premiere of Gubaidulina's work at Symphony Hall in Boston on 23 February 2017.
The Swiss premiere will take place at the Tonhalle Maag in Zurich, performed by the soloists Vadim Gluzman (violin), Johannes Moser (violoncello) and Elsbeth Moser (bayan), with the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra conducted by Omer Meir Wellber on 28 October 2017
Sofia Gubaidulina has supplied the following commentary on her Triple Concerto:
"If the title of an artistic work reflects its essence, then this title becomes a symbol, i.e. a concentrated form of the meanings contained within the depth of the corresponding term. During the composition of this work, the word 'Triple Concerto' became such a symbol behind which the number 3, the trinity, stands. This is reflected not only in the number of interpreters – three soloists standing before the orchestra - but also in the tripartite form and the use of simple triads in the texture of the work. But the most decisive is the meaning of the three fundamental melodic-chordal structures connected with the three most important characteristics of the sound material: the attractive force of the intervals, the force of their repulsion and the force that creates this contrast. Thus the tree of the overtone series more or less grows out of the cluster sound of the bayan, representing the essence, the nature of the sound. And we observe in this a gradual increase in density of the intervals between the individual partial tones. The attractive force of the adjacent partial tones is increased when we gradually move from the first overtone to the next one. This is the initial impulse of the work to which the entire ensuing work structure reacts and to which one chord made up of gradually expanding intervals responds at the end of the work. In this way, one could interpret the work as a revelation of three forces: the expansion of the intervals growing larger, the attractive force of the intervals becoming ever denser and - the reaction to this cosmic drama."
This concert will be repeated on the following day, 29 October 2017, at the Tonhalle Maag (5:00 PM) with the same interpreters.

28 October 2017
Tonhalle Maag, 6:30 PM
Swiss Premiere: Sofia Gubaidulina,
Triple Concerto for violin, violoncello, bayan and orchestra
Vadim Gluzman (violin)
Johannes Moser (violoncello)
Elsbeth Moser (bayan)
Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra
Omer Meir Wellber, conductor

» Show all news