Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

New Chamber Music Compositions by Mahnkopf, Neurath and Harneit at the Gewandhaus Leipzig

Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf’s “Vierte Kammersymphonie” (Fourth Chamber Symphony) for chamber orchestra was composed in 2013/14 in response to a commission from the Leipzig Sinfonietta with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation, and will be given its world premiere on 10 September 2017 at the Gewandhaus in Leipzig performed by the Leipzig Sinfonietta under the direction of Johannes Harneit.

At the same concert there will be also two world premieres of chamber orchestral adaptations by the composer, conductor and adapter Jochen Neurath. Born in 1968 in Celle, Neurath recently made new adaptations of Erik Satie’s “Trois préludes pour ‘Le fils des étoiles’” and Claude Debussy’s “Images pour piano” for chamber orchestra.

In addition, Johannes Harneit’s adaptations for chamber ensemble of Claude Debussy’s works “Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune” and “Sketch” as well as the new “Interludium” for chamber ensemble will be given their world premiere performances at this concert.

10 September 2017
Gewandhaus, Mendelssohn Hall, 6 PM
World premieres:
Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf,
“Vierte Kammersymphonie” for chamber orchestra
Johannes Harneit,
“Interlude” for chamber ensemble
Claude Debussy / Johannes Harneit,
“Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune” for chamber ensemble
“Sketch“ for chamber ensemble
Erik Satie / Jochen Neurath,
“Trois préludes pour ‚Le fils des étoiles‘” for chamber orchestra
Claude Debussy / Jochen Neurath,
“Images pour piano” for chamber orchestra
Sinfonietta Leipzig
Johannes Harneit (direction)


» Show all news