Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Gezeitenkonzerte: “Capriccetti [2nd Cycle]” by Jan Müller-Wieland Given World Premiere

The ‘Gezeitenkonzerte’ (Tides Concerts) of the East Frisian Landscape will be held in 2017 for the sixth time, from 23 June to 13 August under the motto “Sturm und Klang” (Storm and Sound).

During the course of a Composer Portrait of Jan Müller-Wieland on 29 July 2017, the world premiere will be given of Müller-Wieland’s “Capriccetti (2nd Cycle)” for piano performed by the pianist Jan Philip Schulze at the Kunsthalle in Emden. Other works by this composer, including “Libero, fragile” for violin solo, Impromptu “Rilkes Panther” for piano, “Himmelfahrt” (Ascension) for viola solo and “Father Image” for violin and piano will be performed at this concert.

Müller-Wieland’s first Capriccetti Cycle was composed in 1987/88. He considers his new cycle, reflecting, as he hints, his growing life experience over the years, as “his very personal Diabelli Variations”.

The composer has supplied the following comments on his second cycle:
“I composed the first cycle in 1987. The second follows now, thirty years later. The first piece is called ‘verträumt’ (dreamy): a moody ten-minute monodrama oscillating between outburst, collapse, swank, misgiving, rage, desperation, pensiveness and remoteness. The second is called: ‘molto sotto voce, but onwards!’ It is very fleeting and tender, and quotes the Marseillaise. France, Germany, Heine, Börne, Paris in January 2015: All that led to this miniature, to this dedication, to this admiration of what is French. The third piece lasts thirty seconds and is a fright, a scare. The fourth, a chaconne, must be played ‘molto preciso’ - a chain of pearls of harmonic entanglements and melodic resolutions. The fifth (‘intimate’) is a fairy tale without words, lasting about seven minutes. The sixth is again a chaconne: in the descant we hear the quavers d, c, b, a, g and f dropping down, then continuing to wander as runs in thirds, twisting themselves and everything else, then leading to a quotation of the final theme of Sibelius’s Fifth Symphony. The composer associated this theme with the crying of a small child and the morning view of 16 swans on 21 April 1915 – this can be read in his journal, written during the shock caused by the First World War.”

29 July 2017
Kunsthalle, 8 PM
World premiere: Jan Müller-Wieland
“Capriccetti (2nd Cycle)” for piano
Elisabeth Kufferath (violin, viola)
Jan Philip Schulze (piano)
Jan Müller-Wieland (piano and moderation)


» Show all news