Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

World Premiere: DSO Berlin Performs Elena Firsova’s Double Concerto

The new Double Concerto for violin, violoncello and orchestra by the Russian composer Elena Firsova will be presented at the Berlin Philharmonie on 30 June 2017. The violinist Vadim Gluzman and the cellist Johannes Moser will perform the world premiere of the work together with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin under the direction of Tugan Sokhiev.

Tugan Sokhiev was the principal conductor and artistic director of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin from September 2012 until June 2016. He has been the music director of the Bolschoi Theatre and principal conductor of the Bolschoi Orchestra in Moscow since January 2014, and principal conductor and artistic director of the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse since 2008.

The Double Concerto was commissioned by the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and the Norrköping Symphony Orchestra (co-principal). Elena Firsova completed it in 2016.

The composer comments on her Double Concerto as follows:
“For a long time I wanted to write a Double Concerto for violin & cello with large symphony orchestra, because I love Brahms’s Double Concerto for violin & cello with orchestra and always wondered why composers quite rarely write in this genre. My Concerto has two movements and Introduction which is written only for string orchestra and Bells. At first I wrote only the last movement and this one is still the main part of the Concerto. This composition is very personal and reflects my meditations about the mystery and meaning of death. And here is a relevant quote from ‘Doctor Zhivago’ of Boris Pasternak: ‘Art is constantly preoccupied with two things. It always meditates about Death and in this way inevitably creates Life’.”

30 June 2017
Philharmonie, 8 PM (Introduction to the concert: 6:55 PM)
World premiere: Elena Firsova
Double Concerto for violin, violoncello and orchestra
Vadim Gluzman (violin)   
Johannes Moser (violoncello)
Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin
Tugan Sokhiev (direction)

Copyright of the photo: Frank Eidel


» Show all news