Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Berliner Philharmoniker: Shostakovich’s 1st and 15th Symphonies at the Same Concert

Dmitri Shostakovich was just 19 years old when he caught the attention of the musical world in 1924 with his First Symphony, Op. 10. This work was incredibly successful and was soon performed in the West. 47 years lie between the composition of the First Symphony, Op. 10 and the Fifteenth Symphony, Op. 141 completed in 1971. This late work occupies a very special place in Shostakovich’s oeuvre because of its rich contrasts and extraordinary economy of means.

Sir Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker (Berlin Philharmonic) will be performing the First and Fifteenth Symphonies by this great twentieth-century Russian composer on the same programme during a summer tour. The following concerts have been planned in Salzburg, Lucerne and Paris:

Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle (direction)
Dmitri Shostakovitsh:
1st Symphony Op. 10 / Symphony No. 15 Op. 141

28 August 2017
Großes Festspielhaus, 9 PM

30/31 August 2017
Kultur- und Kongresszentrum, each on 7:30 PM

2 September 2017
La Philharmonie, 8:30 PM


» Show all news