Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

World Premiere: Triple Concerto by Sofia Gubaidulina in Boston

The Latvian violinist Baiba Skride, the Dutch cellist Harriet Krijgh and the Swiss bayanist Elsbeth Moser, together with the Boston Symphony Orchestra under the direction of its principal conductor Andris Nelsons, will perform the world premiere of Sofia Gubaidulina’s recently completed Triple Concerto for violin, violoncello, bayan and orchestra on 23 February 2017 at Symphony Hall in Boston. Gubaidulina’s Triple Concerto was commissioned by the Boston Symphony Orchestra, Carnegie Hall, the NDR Radio Philharmonic Hannover and the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra.

Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 7 “Leningrad” will also be heard on the same evening at Symphony Hall in Boston.

The Boston Symphony Orchestra is announcing the concert as follows:
The Russian-born Sofia Gubaidulina, acclaimed as one of the most significant composers in the world today, was encouraged in her career early on by Dmitri Shostakovich. She wrote her Triple Concerto (a BSO co-commission receiving its world premiere at these concerts) for the unusual combination of violin, cello, and bayan, a type of accordion often employed by Gubaidulina and a mainstay of Russian folk music.

The concert programme will be repeated on 24 February (1:30 PM) and on 25 February 2017 (8 PM) at Symphony Hall in Boston. On 28 Februray 2017 the Boston Symphony Orchestra is guest with the Triple Concerto at the Carnegie Hall.

23 February 2017
Boston Symphony Hall, 8 PM
World premiere: Sofia Gubaidulina
Triple Concerto for violin, violoncello, bayan and orchestra
Baiba Skride (violin)
Harriet Krijgh (violoncello)
Elsbeth Moser (bayan)
Boston Symphony Orchestra
Andris Nelsons (direction)

Copyright of the Sofia Gubaidulina photo: F. Hoffmann - La Roche Ltd.


» Show all news