Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Vassily Lobanov turns 70 on 2 January 2017

Vassily Lobanov was born on 2 January 1947 in Moscow. From 1977 to 1990 Lobanov was the pianist in a piano trio with the violinist Oleg Kagan and the cellist Natalia Gutman. His performances as the piano-duo partner of Sviatoslav Richter during the years 1982 to 1985 were legendary. Today he performs with Viktor Tretyakov, Yuri Bashmet and Natalia Gutman in a piano quartet formation. Lobanov has given numerous master courses in piano and chamber music. In 1990 he emigrated to Germany.

He has lived in Bulgaria since 2013. Central works in Lobanov’s production are instrumental concertos including the Cello Concerto, Op. 42 and a Concerto for Trumpet, Percussion and String Orchestra, Op. 70, a Clarinet Sonata, Op. 45, a Flute Sonata, Op. 38 and the Second Violoncello Sonata, Op. 54.

Copyright of the photo: Archive Sikorski Music Publishers


» Show all news