Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Lera Auerbach: Trio for Violin, Tenor Saxophone and Piano Given World Premiere

In 2014 Lera Auerbach composed a Trio for violin, horn and piano for the 60th birthday of the Geneva couple Séverine and Ivan Cohen. They are friends of the composer and the work was commissioned by the couple’s children, grandchildren and closest friends. The world premiere was given on 3 July 2014 during the course of the event series “Laboratoire musical” in Chêne-Bougeries near Geneva, Switzerland.

In August 2015, in response to a suggestion by Bruce Weinberger, Lera Auerbach transcribed the horn part of this trio for tenor saxophone. This version will receive its world premiere on 22 January 2017 at the Museum De Pont in Tilburg, Netherlands, performed by the violinist Agata Riley, the saxophonist Andreas van Zoelen and Martien Maas at the piano. The Museum De Pont is a museum for contemporary art.

22 January 2017
Museum De Pont, 2:30 PM
World premiere: Lera Auerbach
Trio for Violin, Tenor Saxophone and Piano
Agata Riley (violin)
Andreas van Zoelen (tenor saxophone)
Martien Maas (piano)


» Show all news