Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

Armida Quartet Brings Marko Nikodijevic’s “tiefenrausch” to Hungary

Following the celebrated world premiere on 19 October 2016 at the Barbican Centre in London, the young Armida Quartet of Berlin with Martin Funda (violin), Johanna Staemmler (violin), Teresa Schwamm (viola) and Peter Philipp Staemmler (violoncello) will also present the Hungarian premiere of Marko Nikodijevic’s string quartet “tiefenrausch” on 19 November 2016 at the Palace of Arts (MÜPA) in Budapest.

Marko Nikodijevic comments on the creation of his work “tiefenrausch”:
“During my stay at the Deutsches Studienzentrum in Venice from July to September 2016 I am writing my first String Quartet with the title ‘tiefenrausch’. It is a work commissioned by the European Concert Hall Organisation for the wonderful Armida Quartet.
Tiefenrausch (Rapture of the Deep) is a narcosis-like condition that begins from a diving depth of about 30 metres. Characteristics for this intoxicating condition range from an initial tranquillity and impaired logical reasoning through to euphoria, claustrophobia, acoustic hallucinations, tunnel vision, vertigo and paranoia, right up to loss of consciousness and, in extreme cases, even death.
Musically the new piece is a continuation of the voyage of discovery into psychedelic worlds of my previous pieces such as ‘GHB / tanzaggregat’ and ‘K-hole / schwarzer horizont’”

19 November 2016
Palace of Arts Budapest (MÜPA), 9 PM
Hungarian premiere: Marko Nikodijevic
“tiefenrausch” for string quartet
Armida Quartet:
Martin Funda (violin), Johanna Staemmler (violin),
Teresa Schwamm (viola), Peter Philipp Staemmler (violoncello)


» Show all news