Composer search

Search by surname

Detailed search

Repertoire search

Catalogue search

“O Come, Holy Ghost” by Sofia Gubaidulina for the First Time in the Netherlands

Sofia Gubaidulina’s “O Come, Holy Ghost” for soprano, bass, mixed choir and orchestra was commissioned by the Staatskapelle Dresden and the Frauenkirche Foundation in Dresden. The work is dedicated to the conductor Andres Mustonen, who directed the world premiere on 18 April 2015 in Dresden (as part of Sofia Gubaidulina’s residency with the Staatskapelle Dresden as “Capell-Compositrice”) with the vocal soloists Sophie Karthäuser (soprano) and Georg Zeppenfeld (bass) joined by the MDR Radio Choir and the Staatskapelle Dresden at the Frauenkirche.

The Dutch premiere of Gubaidulina’s “O Come, Holy Ghost” will be presented on 10 June in Utrecht. The vocal soloists will be Katrien Baerts (soprano) and Sebastian Pilgrim (bass), with Jukka-Pekka Saraste conducting the Radio Filharmonisch Orkest and Michael Gläser the Groot Omroepkoor at the TivoliVredenburg.

“O Come, Holy Ghost” is the preliminary version of a large oratorio commissioned by the Staatskapelle Dresden to be entitled “Über Liebe und Hass” (About Love and Hate); its world premiere will take place on 14 October 2016 in Tallinn.

10 June 2016
TivoliVredenburg, Great Hall, 8 PM
Dutch premiere: Sofia Gubaidulina
“O Come, Holy Ghost” for soprano, bass, mixed choir and orchestra
Katrien Baerts (soprano)
Sebastian Pilgrim (bass)
Groot Omroepkoor
Radio Filharmonisch Orkest
Michael Gläser (choir direction)
Jukka-Pekka Saraste (direction)


» Show all news